Surprise Appearance

Recently, my family conspired to throw a surprise 60th birthday party for my mom. Her birthday isn’t actually until the beginning of March, so they figured an early party would be the best way to ensure she’d be surprised. The plans came together quickly and I only had a few days to decide whether or not I would try to make it. I would have loved if my whole family could have been there, but travelling with 3 young kids is… well… an adventure. I felt guilty leaving my husband alone with the kids for several days, but he’s actually the one who convinced me I should be there. My mom will only turn 60 once and this event would be something she’d remember forever.

I’m so happy I decided to surprise my mom, because her face was priceless! And actually, my dad didn’t know I’d be there either so it was great to surprise him too. The party was fantastic and she was surrounded by friends and family the entire weekend. And even Mother Nature felt like I should spend more time with my parents and decided to dump lots of snow on southern Maine, thus cancelling my flight. I got a bonus day in Maine, but I was definitely wanting to get back to Shane and the kids (did I mention they were all sick and on antibiotics?).

Seeing my family was well worth the whirlwind trip, especially seeing my Memere (that’s french for grandmother). She lives in a nursing home and suffers from dementia. Over the years her memory has gotten worse and worse. A few years ago, she couldn’t recall exactly where I lived. Then, she had to keep getting reminded that I was expecting twins. At Christmas in 2013, she didn’t recognize me, but it clicked when she was told it was me, her granddaughter. This time, she had no idea who I was and even my name didn’t ring a bell. She was surprised to know that I was her granddaughter. I was a total stranger. We had met up with her immediately after she finished lunch, yet when we asked her how her meal was, she didn’t know when she had last eaten. It’s all very sad, to see her like this. Luckily, I have wonderful memories of her from over the years and try hard to remember happier times. Luckily, she’s still in great spirits and is receiving wonderful care.

This quick trip was just what I needed to combat the homesickness that comes around occasionally, as well as celebrate the absolute best mom anyone can ask for. Happy 60th Mom! You are so loved!

 

photo 1

Got to spend time with my cute nephews!

photo 2

photo 3

 

Here’s a video of the big surprise!

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Surprise Appearance
  1. Cecile says:

    How wonderful and touching! I love seeing your Maman enjoying your grand entrance! Of course, became very emotional!
    I also enjoyed seeing both at the store, you are very special and beautiful ladies…
    Sending you hugs!
    Video of your family tres special!
    Cecile Sirois

  2. angie says:

    Ali, thanks for sharing the vidio of your mom’s surprise birthday. Sorry I missed it because of work! It was nice seeing her so surprised! I also enjoyed all the other vidios of the kids!!

  3. Sharon says:

    OK you had me in tears ~ what a nice surprise.

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,520
Recent Posts
