Then and Now

It’s hard to believe that I’m already 32 weeks pregnant. At this point in my last pregnancy, I was on bed rest and about a week away from having the boys. It’s so hard to believe how quickly the weeks have passed this time around. Back then I took weekly photos of my changing shape and was updated by assorted apps and emails about what size fruit my kids were at that point in their gestation. This time around, there was none of that. Sure I’ve taken the occasional picture to chronicle this time, but not nearly with the same frequency. We had professional maternity photos done last time and I don’t have any (time/money/desire) to do those again, although the addition of older brothers in the picture would be so special.

32 weeks!

32 weeks!

Last time around, I spent every waking moment preparing for the twins and bonding with them as best I could. I feel like the generally busy-ness of having 2 year old twins and a full-time job and a zillion other things going on has prevented me from bonding with this new human I’m growing.  I recently started taking pre-natal yoga classes once a week and have really enjoyed them! I look forward to ninety minutes of quiet reflection about our new family member and how excited we are to meet him! I really think taking the time out of my weekend to de-stress a little has been invaluable and I do feel more of a bond now than I did earlier on in the pregnancy!

Last time around, our nursery was complete, clothes were purchased, clean and organized by size, my hospital bag was packed and ready to go and I was just generally more prepared than this time. I think when it’s your second pregnancy, you realize what actually needs to get done ahead of time and what can wait. And you also realize that if you don’t have something you need, there are dozens of stores or websites that can get you what you need quickly, without stress. So we still have a completely un-decorated nursery, but experience reminds me that the boys weren’t in their own room for months after their birth and this little guy will be likely sleeping in a pack ‘n play in our room as well. We’ll do our best to tackle our (very long) to-do list and it’ll all work out, I’m sure.

We’re in the market for a new vehicle since we’ll have three kids in carseats very soon. We currently have a sedan and a crossover-type vehicle. The crossover has a third row that we can put one of the boys in and still have space for a car seat and an infant seat in the middle row. With the third row up, however, we lose practically all of our trunk space, so hauling a stoller or Caleb’s walker will be a little more complicated. The sedan has room for two car seats, but not three, so it needs to go. This is the car that we use solely as a commuter car. It gets the kids to and from daycare and Shane to and from the train station each day and that’s about it. Would you believe it, we JUST paid that car off… like 12 days ago. Ugh. Such is life. So it looks like a minivan is in our future and we’ve embraced it. It’s official, we are no longer cool.

I think the boys are definitely ready to meet their baby brother. We refer to the new baby as Baby Mac, because the boys suggested Macaroni ‘n Cheese as a possible name for their little brother when we first asked them. We’re still considering it. Ha. Caleb & Wyatt always talk about all the fun things they’re going to do together and how they’ll teach him how to play with trucks, how to watch Yo Gabba Gabba and how to color. We checked out a lot of baby sibling related books at the library that were great. They emphasized that, at first, the new baby isn’t going to do much besides sleep, eat and poop, but that the boys will be able to hold him and help change his diaper, etc. On Friday, I surprised them with a practice baby doll! Can I just say that my heart practically exploded when I saw them care for the doll. It’s like they transformed into these sweet, protective and caring older brothers before my very eyes.

So, that just about summarizes this pregnancy… I’m still feeling great with lots of energy, the boys are keeping us really busy and we have a zillion things to do but we’re all so excited about Baby Mac’s impending arrival this summer! I can’t believe how quickly it’s coming! Slow down, time!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Then and Now
  1. angie says:

    Hi Ali, nice to read your post again. Ashley is due in about 6 weeks, so you are not too far behind her. Best of luck with the new addition to your already beautiful family. Angie

  2. I pay a visit every day a few sites and sites to read
    articles, however this weblog provides feature based content.
    instagram profile, free instagram followers fast , get more followers on instagram
    free instagram followers fast upon instagram Protected and straightforward through the largest instagram followers service provider.

  3. twitter says:

    Hey just wanted to give you a brief heads up
    and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.
    twitter
    twitter
    twitter

  4. youtube says:

    Thanks for sharing such a good opinion, piece of writing is pleasant, thats why i have read
    it completely. youtube
    youtube
    youtube

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
