Do you Remember…?

Our boys have great memories and we’re reminded daily of the events in their short lives that are really ingrained into their 2-year-old brains. Whether it’s at the table eating, or while driving to/from daycare, the boys are always asking me, “Mommy, do you remember when…

…Memere fell off the snowmobile (pronounced ‘snowbeeble’)?” When we were in Maine for Christmas my dad took us out for a quick snowmobile ride in the trails. My mom was on the back and my dad pulled myself, Shane and the boys in the sled type attachment. In a move that surprises no one who actually knows my dad, he decided to go off the groomed trail into a really deep, powdery “shortcut”. The snowmobile tilted a little too much to the side and my mom was dumped into several feet of white, fluffy snow. Once she started laughing, we all started laughing, and it’s a memory that we recount at least 3 times a week, several months later.

…Mima and Bopppies train was broken?” On their most recent visit, my mother-in-law was updating me via text about their commute from the airport to the ‘burbs where we’d go pick them up at the train station. She let me know their train wasn’t working, so I relayed that info to the boys who were anxiously awaiting her arrival. After we picked them up, Mima and Boppie had to do their best to explain why the train broke and who fixed it because two very curious minds needed to know.

…the bees tried to eat our lunch at the pumpkin patch?” This fall we took the boys to Butler’s Orchard where we picked out pumpkins, rode a hay slide and walked through a corn maze. When we got some lunch, the only available table was near a trashcan that was swarming with bees or hornets. The flies kept taking a special interest in our lunch (not us, luckily) and it must have been really entertaining to watch us continuously swat them away.

…the poop fell out of my diaper in the hallway?”  Oh, Caleb. No explanation necessary I guess.

…the copy machine at mommy’s work was broken?” And when I tell them, “Yes I remember when the copy machine was broken”, Caleb always corrects me, “Don’t say coffee machine, say copy machine!!!” even though, I do say copy machine! It’s a game only a toddler would get, I guess. When the boys came to have lunch with me one day while I was at work and I thought it’d be cute to let them photocopy their little hands as a sort of project. But lo and behold, these fancy copiers now-a-days require you to select a size paper and jump through hoops to actually get it to copy without the lid fully closed so I couldn’t figure it out. Ahem, I mean… it was “broken.” 

…Daddy fixed the light in the hallway?” Months ago, actually maybe almost a year at this point, Shane changed a light bulb and forever impressed his two sons, who are now convinced that he can fix anything. He doesn’t disagree with them. The image of the boys sitting patiently, and watching in awe, by the base of his step ladder with plastic tools in hand, ready to help, is one of my favorites. 

…the bird flew in our house?”  One night we returned home and as we all had our hands full with kids and bags, I opened the door and saw something fly into the house. Apparently a bird decided our Christmas wreath would be a nice place to take a nap and freaked out upon awakening. He flew the wrong way into our house and hung out on the fan, on the corner of a mirror and in our Christmas tree before finally being shooed out the front door. After I tell the story of the bird in our house, the boys always smile and remark, “silly bird…”

Such random funny memories, that I hope they never forget.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Do you Remember…?
  1. Ali, I love your blog. Is there anything the Heather & Liam Connection can do for your little guy? An ipad2…?

  2. Sharon says:

    What great memories they will cherish forever. Thanks for sharing I always love to read your blog.

  3. angie says:

    Enjoy reading your stories!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

