Baby News!

photo (55)

The Danielson family will be getting bigger come this July! We’re expecting our third baby BOY and couldn’t be any happier. Caleb and Wyatt are very excited at the notion of having a baby brother and can’t wait to teach him things like “playing with cars” “playing with trains” and “reading books.” I’ve been working all winter to try and set aside baby toys and books that the boys have long outgrown. Of course, separating them only makes them more intriguing to Caleb and Wyatt who want to know why they’re getting set aside.

Me: “Well, they’re for the new baby.”

C&W: “The new baby?”

Me: “Yep, he’ll need toys, clothes and books just like you did when you were a baby”

C&W: “We’re gonna put our (half-eaten) pancakes in the fridge for the new baby”

Me: Thanks, guys.

The great thing about having a boy is that I don’t have to think about a lot of things to buy since we have so many hand-me-downs, times two! I half-jokingly suggested to Shane that my goal is that I won’t have to do any laundry for this new baby since we have so many clothes!

The new baby needs a nursery and I’ve made zero progress on that front but I’m not worried. Some new paint, a new dresser, and wall art should be all we need. The crib and glider all all set from the last time we had a nursery.

This second pregnancy is much different than my first in many ways. When you’re only expecting one and not two, you don’t get so uncomfortable as fast. Although, the second time around your belly “pops” much earlier, so I feel like I look like I’m pregnant with twins! Luckily, I still have plenty of energy and aside from the infrequent heartburn and fatigue, I’ve had zero pregnancy symptoms! I think when you’re pregnant the first time around, it’s all-consuming. I’d spend all my free time researching baby products and reading pregnancy books. Every conversation I had with my husband started with “When the babies arrive…” It’s very different this time around. The boys keep me very busy so I don’t really have the time to revel in the fact that another is on the way. I try to consciously “bond” with the baby in the evenings when I have time to unwind. I try to picture what he’ll look like, what kind of a personality he’ll have, how much he’ll look up to his big brothers and how he’ll change our family forever.

I can’t wait to meet him! I just hope this little guy knows what he’s in for!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Family
4 comments on “Baby News!
  1. Sharon Arnold says:

    This is so exciting congrats to all of you..The boys will be great big brothers..

  2. Louise Beaulieu says:

    Congratulations….so happy for you folks….what a lovely family you will be…..love your family picture, by the way…

  3. Diane says:

    Congrats to your new baby boy that will be born in such a great family. The big brothers will be great with him. Ali take time for yourself. LOL.

  4. angie says:

    Great news Ali. I was just thinking the same thing, not needing much clothes, always helps the budget! Glad to hear you are feeling well with this pregnancy. Angie

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

