Glasses for Wyatt!

A few weeks ago, we noticed that Wyatt was crossing his eyes. The first time I noticed, I probably handled it wrong in that I made a big deal about why we don’t cross our eyes (because they’ll stay that way, right?!) and encouraged him not to do it anymore. Well of course, when you tell a toddler not to do something, it’s the only thing they want to do. I couldn’t physically un-cross his eyes for him, so I would snap my fingers or tell him to close his eyes and get him to re-focus on something else. He always crossed them with a huge smile on his face, probably because he knew it was driving me crazy. I didn’t have any reason to believe that he was crossing them unintentionally, so I wasn’t worried.

Crossing like this was becoming more and more common during the day.

Crossing like this was becoming more and more common during the day.

Well, I wasn’t worried until I would look into my rear-view mirror and notice him crossing while looking out the car window. I would catch him and he’d flash a huge smile, but in the moments before, he was crossing without my noticing. I began to tell him that I would have no other choice than to take him to an eye doctor, thinking that might deter him, but no such luck. He was actually really excited to see an eye doctor! I made an appointment and luckily was able to take him one morning while Shane was away on a business trip.

The doctor (who happens to also be Caleb’s pediatric ophthalmologist) said she was surprised that she hadn’t seen us in her office sooner since identical twins often times have the same vision. My boys were premature (33 weekers!) which is also an indicator of potential vision issues. She had told us all of this when we found out that Caleb needed glasses at 10 months old. I guess we just figured if Wyatt ever gave us any signs that he had trouble seeing, we’d take him in right away. We honestly believed that Wyatt didn’t have any problems seeing until his eye-crossing incident so when we found out that Wyatt is also very farsighted (actually worse than Caleb), we were pretty surprised. Wyatt points out things that are far way, he shoots baskets and catches balls… this was not on our radar at all, but at the end of the day, we’re just glad it’s resolved and Wyatt is now in a new pair of shiny, new specs!

The search for a pair of glasses that weren’t identical to Caleb’s was quite difficult. We want our boys to be individuals, and frankly we didn’t want to mix up their glasses (with different prescriptions) so I was on the lookout for something besides the black MiraFlex frames his brother wears.

photo 1

 

Supposed to come in gray, but I just couldn't get past the pink!

Supposed to come in gray, but I just couldn’t get past the pink!

Needless to say, we were striking out all over the place. I wanted a neutral and not too flashy color, and the frame needed to be toddler-proof! At the end of the day, we were back at our same optician trying on different MiraFlex frames.

photo 3

photo 4

photo 5

The gray washed him out, but the blue pair and brown pair were both pretty cute! I opted for the brown, in the square style, which I recognize looks a lot like Caleb’s black pair, but it’s fine! The most important part is that Wyatt has taken to his new glasses like a champ. He leaves them on all day and never tries to take them off, except for bath time, when he puts them in his special spot on top of the dresser. He also loves proclaiming that “Wy-wy no crossing eyes!” “See better!”

photo 1

 

My current fave pic of my dudes, sent by Shane when I was away on a work trip!

My current fave pic of my dudes, sent by Shane when I was away on a work trip!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Wyatt

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,355
Recent Posts
