A Weekend with the Boys

My husband is away on another work trip and so I’ve been flying solo for over a week now. We really miss him while he’s gone, but overall, things are going well. The boys have been properly fed and bathed thus far and no one has ran out of clean clothes… yet, so I’m prematurely declaring this past week a success! I wanted to document what a weekend alone with two two-year-olds looks like and I realized it’s actually quite difficult to take photos when you’re… you know…. taking care of two two-year-olds, but I tried my best!

On Friday after I picked them up from daycare we played outside in the yard. It was probably the nicest day of the year! Clear blue skies, super sunny and crisp air with NO HUMIDITY!!!! Finally! The lighting was perfect and I was able to snap some cute pics of Caleb and Wyatt. Wyatt loves to see his picture on the camera screen, but the only problem is that he doesn’t stand still long enough for me to actually take the picture! After playing in the front yard, we made our way to the swing set in the back yard. I took a few photos and then put the camera down in order to be more present. I made a mental note to always try to remember the sunlight streaming through the trees, the boys squealing in delight and begging me to push them “higher, Mommy, higher!”

DSC_0002
 DSC_0003
 DSC_0010

Caleb's always super eager to hug his brother and Wyatt is a good sport.

Caleb’s always super eager to hug his brother and Wyatt is a good sport.

DSC_0016

DSC_0021

Once inside, we had an uneventful dinner and then it was time to take baths. I’d like to point out that after bath time, I’m nearly as wet as the boys. Anyone else have kiddos that love to dump huge cupfuls of water out of the tub and onto your lap?

DSC_0022

How can you be mad when you’re kids are having the time of their lives, splashing and goofing off?

DSC_0026a

DSC_0029

If I've told him not to do this once, I've told him 1 million times... so gross!

If I’ve told him not to do this once, I’ve told him 1 million times… so gross!

DSC_0032

Next comes the parade around the house wearing towels (and sometimes nothing) just to make sure everyone is nice and dry!

DSC_0036

DSC_0041

Once diapered and dressed in jammies, we collect a large assortment of books so we have a solid 20-30 minutes of storytime before bed. The boys have long outgrown sitting on our laps in a chair, so we camp out on our bed. This really is one of my favorite parts of the day.

DSC_0049

DSC_0055

Lastly, we say good night to each other and the boys often shower each other with hugs, kisses and “I love you, Bubba” and “I love you, Wy-wy”.

DSC_0060

Oh, and I love you too puppy!

Oh, and I love you too puppy!

At this point, I am bone tired after being up early and shuttling them off to school and myself to work and our eventful evening has taken every last ounce of energy that I have. I consider going to bed at 7:45 as well, but I muster up the strength to go clean up the kitchen, make myself a frozen pizza and pop open a beer. Add some mindless TV and I’m in heaven!

DSC_0066

The rest of the weekend involved lots more playing, indoors and out, making cookies, playing piano and fingerpainting. We also had a play date with some friends to watch football! An exhausting (but really fun) weekend! Here are the highlights:

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

DSC_0074

DSC_0077a

DSC_0082

DSC_0085

DSC_0087

Wyatt decided he wanted to push his brother around. So sweet. This picture makes my eyes water.

Can you tell Caleb was having the time of his life?

Can you tell Caleb was having the time of his life?

Vegging out, watching Yo Gabba Gabba.

Vegging out, watching Yo Gabba Gabba.

DSC_0094

Pumpkin chocolate chip!

Pumpkin chocolate chip!

DSC_0096a

Let's be honest, it wasn't all smiles and rainbows. Toddler tantrum due to refusal of second package of fruit snacks.

Let’s be honest, it wasn’t all smiles and rainbows. Toddler tantrum due to refusal of second package of fruit snacks.

Bubba Beethoven

Bubba Beethoven

DSC_0111

Wy-Wy van Gogh

Wy-Wy van Gogh

Phew! I think that about sums it up! We never like it when Shane is out of town, but I cherish the quality time I’ve spent with my boys for the past week. They are my everything.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Day in the Life, Weekend
4 comments on “A Weekend with the Boys
  1. Megan says:

    The one of wyatt crying is priceless. Henry also melts down over the injustice of his life. I tell him that the children in Africa make commercials about him. 🙂

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,346
Recent Posts
