Toddler-isms

I know I always say this, but I really love the age that the boys are at right now. They make us laugh so much! Sure, I could deal without the whining, impatience and tantrums that come with being a two year old, but when our boys are in a chatty mood… there is nothing funnier! Wyatt still has an edge over Caleb as far as a more expansive vocabulary, but Caleb is definitely catching up!

Like most toddlers, our boys have a funny way of saying certain words. Their “th” sounds more like an “s” so “thank you” is actually “sank you!” And they love to say “sank you” because they get lots of praise for having nice manners so when I deliver a meal to the table or hand them a toy they’ll tell me “sank you, Mommy!” about two dozen times.

I think they also have a problem with the “rr” sound so rather than say “carry me” they say “key-o” which I think is their way of saying “carry you” because they haven’t gotten the whole “me, you” thing figured out yet. So when the boys are fixed in place with both hands in the air, frantically shouting “key-yo, key-yo!” we know they want up! This is one of those words that makes zero sense to anyone but Shane and I.

Caleb’s funniest line is “soweee bout dat!” (Translation: sorry about that!) It cracks me up everytime!

I’m realizing quickly that Wyatt has a brutally honest quality about him. The other day he exclaimed, “Mommy dirty!” while pointing at my (ever increasing) freckles and age spots beauty marks on my arm. After a long day, Shane was drinking a beer while we were getting them ready for bed. When he kissed Wyatt goodnight, Wyatt told him “Daddy beer nighttime!” We both looked at each other and died laughing. 

On our car trip back from Myrtle Beach, Caleb was demanding I pick up a toy from the floor, so when we asked him what’s the “magic word” he replied: “MOMMY GET IT!” I think my jaw hit the floor!

We haven’t learned our lesson yet, but whenever we start to get ready for daycare or bedtime we’ll ask the boys “Who wants to brush teeth (or get dressed, change diapers) first?” and it never fails, Wyatt will volunteer his brother and answer “Bubba!” Caleb has yet to catch on.

The boys think our laptop is called Mima, because they Skype with Shane’s parents about once a week.

We don’t just change diapers in our house… it’s designated “diaper time!” The same goes for “outschide (outside) time”, “pool time”, “book time”, “baff (bath) time”, “bed time”, “deener (dinner) time”, “breffast (breakfast) time” and on and on and on… There’s a “time” for everything!

Wyatt is really into listing off things as a way to recap his day. He pronounces his words in a long, drawn out way. The cutest part is the fact that he ends his list by proclaiming, “FUN!” This past Sunday we went to the park, the boys napped in the car on the way back, we had lunch, went to the pool, went to get ice cream and then Skyped with Mima and Boppie. Wyatt’s recap of the day went something like, “paaark, swinnngs, sliiide, caaar, lunnnnch, poool, toooys, ice creeeeam, Mimaaa, Boppppie, FUN!” We love to hear him do this while laying in his crib at night before he drifts off to sleep.

Caleb is really into mimicking us, especially me. One time, Shane and I were goofing off and I jokingly got frustrated and made a dramatic “Ughhhhh” response. Within one second, Caleb was saying “ughhhh” with the same voice that he uses to describe how a lion sounds, really loud and deep. Yikes! I really hope I don’t sound like that to them. He thought it was hilarious, of course, and continued to grunt like that for several minutes!

These are just some of the things that crack us up when we’re around our boys lately. Time passes so quickly and I hope I never forget these funny toddler-isms! How about you? Any funny quotes from your little ones that you hope to always remember?

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Toddler-isms
  1. marlene says:

    Ohhh from the mouths of babes! So cute!

  2. Rosella says:

    “go away mommy”

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,348
Recent Posts
