Second Birthday!

I can’t believe it, but my boys are two. It must get really tiring to hear how fast kids grow up but it’s so true! I can’t believe it’s been a year since their first birthday already! And now that we’re into July… wow, the summer is just flying by.

DSC_0041

Out for his first morning stroll as a two-year-old!

DSC_0039

New water table!

DSC_0036

New picnic table!

I spent most of last week prepping for the party and stressing myself out over the details of how much food, booze, etc. I think everything went perfectly! The boys “wanted” a fire truck birthday party. Well, let’s face it. I decided on a firetruck theme. The boys seemed excited when I mentioned the idea of a weeyooo party. Weeyoo is what they call firetrucks since that is the sound they make.  WEEEYOOOO WEEEYOOOO!

DSC_0026

DSC_0025

DSC_0034

DSC_0022

I thought about either Elmo or Thomas the Train since the boys like them both, but ultimately landed on firetrucks. I figured it would be easy to find kiddie fire hats since I see them everywhere, but it’s one of those things, that when you’re actually looking for them, they are no where to be found. Thank god for level-headed friends who calm you down and let you use their Amazon Prime account to order some two days before the party!

DSC_0045

DSC_0050

I had arranged for our local fire department to bring their truck over to the kids to check out but alas, they didn’t show. I mean, I knew there was a chance that they would have to, you know, fight an actual fire and not entertain kids, but I was still bummed nonetheless. Thankfully, I never mentioned the real firetruck to the boys because I know they would have thrown a fit if it didn’t work out. I think I see a trip to our local firehouse in the near future.

As always, our friends and family were super generous and the boys scored some fantastic toys, books and clothes! They were a little freaked out at all the people at first, but then warmed up and had a blast. Towards the end of the party the kids were playing outside with the water table and Wyatt got soaked, so he ended up in his diaper and sandals only. It’s a very good look on him.  Caleb stayed dry and loved showing off his walking skills to a very captivated audience!

DSC_0085

DSC_0100

DSC_0098

All in all, we had a fantastic time and now all the Mothers Day/Fathers Day/birthdays holidays have passed. To say that we’re ready for a vacation would be a huge understatement. As luck would have it, we’ll be leaving in a few days to spend some time in Myrtle Beach. This will be our first family vacation, just the four of us, when we’re not going to visit friends or family somewhere. It’ll also be the first time the boys experience the beach! Now, off to find an economy sized gallon of sunscreen for my pale, pale little ones!

DSC_0077

Happy Birthday, Caleb & Wyatt!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Caleb, Holidays, Uncategorized, Wyatt
3 comments on “Second Birthday!
  1. Sharon says:

    Happy Birthday boy!!!

  2. Sharon says:

    *Boys

  3. Beth says:

    Happy Birthday to your boys! The party looked like a blast.

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,460
Recent Posts
