Reunited!

Today has finally arrived! Shane will be landing in DC tonight after being gone for 10 days to Turkey. Things here went pretty well, but I’m definitely ready for him to be home. For the most part the boys have been well behaved which really helps. I’ve definitely been slacking on the other aspects of my life (like cleaning and blogging) because I’m just so darn tired after they go to bed. I think I made myself like two real dinners and the rest of the time just found a quick snack in the cupboards. Last night I actually baked a birthday cake and then broiled some fish but once it was ready, I wasn’t in the mood to eat it! I’ve also been really slacking on exercise but I’ve convinced myself that taking care of the boys burns quite a few calories, so I’m all set!

Coincidentally, I also had a two day work trip to Richmond this week. I was nominated and selected to attend this training so I didn’t want to pass up the opportunity. My mother-in-law Beth flew in from Colorado and saved the day by watching the boys while I was gone. From the video and text updates, it sounds like they had a blast! It was a huge relief to know the boys were in such great hands. I was able to really take in all the info provided at the conference. The topic was “Technical Advances in the Visual Documentation of Crime Scenes”. Definitely geeky, but I really enjoyed it. I spent one of the evenings having dinner (and drinks) with some of the other attendees from all over the country. It was awesome to hear how their departments compared to ours in terms of standard operating procedures and work load. I took away lots of good information and had an awesome time! I’m so thankful to Beth for helping us so much and the boys haven’t stopped talking about their beloved Mima!

Thursday was Shane’s birthday and unfortunately he said he was super busy and it wasn’t fun at all. I’m hoping that I can give him a nice Father’s Day to make up for it. I know I’ve had a long 10 days while he’s been away, but it’s surely difficult for him to be away from his family and working such long hours. When he gets home, I feel like our fun summer can really begin! I can’t wait!

So can I tell you about an awesome series of events that happened to me today? Ok, so we had plans to have a play date with another family today but as it turns out, the little girl ended up being sick. I was bummed, of course, to hear that she wasn’t feeling well but I had zero plans as to what to do with the boys all day. A full day with two toddlers requires lots of activities to keep them busy. I vaguely remembered hearing about a playgroup for kids with special needs that will take place over the summer and today was the first session. I frantically emailed the contact person and she encouraged me to bring the kids and join them. I didn’t know what to expect but once I got there, there were about six other parents with their kids. There were also several teen volunteers who played with the kids while the parents went into another room to introduce themselves and just talk. We discussed our kids, their diagnoses, various therapies and gave each other advice. I was the only parent of a child with cerebral palsy, but a lot of the same issues that affect me, also affect parents of kids with autism or down syndrome, etc.  I can’t stress enough how much I enjoyed this support group. I haven’t really found anything like this and I really look forward to attending the next play date in a few weeks and bringing Shane along as well. It’s nice to be surrounded by other parents that understand some of the challenges we face and it’s nice to offer suggestions to those who might be dealing with a situation I may have faced in the past. If any other local readers are interested, the organization is called The Lollipop Kids Foundation.

I plan on giving a longer Caleb update soon since he’s just progressing so quickly and making us so proud. I can’t believe my boys are going to be TWO in just a couple weeks! Craziness! This time of year is always a busy one in our household. After Mother’s Day we celebrate my birthday, then Shane’s birthday, then Father’s Day and end the month of June with Caleb & Wyatt’s birthday! Phew! Quite a crazy month!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,348
Recent Posts
