A Morning with Caleb

A few weeks ago, Wyatt and I had a special day together so I was looking forward to an opportunity to do the same with Caleb. I found a fun looking “Mommy & Me” event at a local shopping plaza and decided to check it out. Caleb had occupational therapy in the morning and then I dropped Wyatt off at daycare so C and I could enjoy our morning together. The event was fine, but for a stroller-bound little boy, there wasn’t much to do. There were several family-oriented businesses that had booths where you could sign up to win a door prize but alas, all I got was lots of unwanted marketing emails that I had to unsubscribe from.

photo 1

Caleb had fun making a colorful pasta necklace although his little fingers struggled to thread the string through the pasta and I ended up “helping” quite a bit. Once it was finished he loved playing with it and exclaiming, “NEKLISH!” We scored some free baby food pouches (huge fans of the new Happy Tot Greek Yogurt) that Caleb got to enjoy as we strolled around.

photo 2

We stood in line for a not insignificant amount of time in order to get a balloon animal, or in Caleb’s case… a balloon Elmo! It was so cute but of course, his big orange nose proved to be too tempting and Caleb gnawed on it until it popped. He also chewed on Elmo’s eyeballs so the black sharpie marker smeared all over his mouth. I kept wondering why people were smirking at Caleb as I pushed him from behind in the stroller. Surely the health benefits of the organic Greek yogurt balanced out the chemicals/toxins from his sharpie licking incident, right?

photo 3

Before Elmo was nose-less and pupil-less.

I looked forward to letting Caleb take part in the “interactive movement program” put on by a local kids gym, but the area was packed with much bigger, rambunctious kids who were jumping up and down and it just wasn’t safe to have Caleb crawling around. That was a bummer.

I decided we’d end the morning by having a nice relaxing lunch together but my date had other ideas. He really didn’t want to sit in the high chair and I don’t blame him… he’d been sitting in a stroller all morning and homeboy likes to be on the move! This lunch was doing downhill… and quickly. I started shoveling my meal into my face in such a way that I’m certain I looked like some sort of zoo exhibit. It didn’t help that I was sitting directly in front of the restaurant window, on display for the other mommies and their (seemingly better behaved) kids.  There’s no pictures from lunch because well, you know, I was in survival mode. We hastily packed up our food and loaded into the car. Poor Mr. C fell asleep on the way home and I decided he deserves a do-over “special day” with an activity where he’ll be better able to participate. I will be forever learning how to adapt activities in order for Caleb to take part. But the important message is that he will take part, just in his own way. Some outings will be successful and others (like this one) I’ll simply have to learn from.

Our neighborhood pool opens this weekend and I think that calls for a couple hours of quality splash time with his mommy…

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Caleb
3 comments on “A Morning with Caleb
  1. Sharon Arnold says:

    I so enjoy reading your blog, it doesn’t matter what time of day or night when I see it come through I just stop what I’m doing & sit back & read..You are an awesome mom Allison, Caleb will do great especially with such caring parents….My best to you always..

  2. […] & Caleb day! Technically completed on 5/9/13, but Caleb is due another special day since the Mommy-and-Me event we attended didn’t have much that he was able to […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
