Mother’s Day 2013

Just a warning… there will be a fair amount of cheese pouring out of this post since I am on cloud nine after a fantastic weekend.

DSC_0104

DSC_0099

I am fortunate enough to be married to someone who likes to go all out for holidays and Mother’s Day was no exception. I was already told well in advanced that I was allowed to sleep in for as long as I wanted on Sunday morning. The gift of sleep is priceless in our household since the boys love waking up before the sun and have no concept of “weekend.” That morning I sat up like a bear coming out of hibernation and gave an exaggerated yawn and stretch. I looked at the clock, fully anticipating that it would be past nine, but alas… 7:10. I laid in bed, trying to fall back asleep and noticed a card on my nightstand. When I opened it up, there were sweet words from Shane along with a menu of what he planned to cook me for brunch. Belgian waffles, an egg scramble with vegetables, a lobster tail, fresh fruit, Columbian coffee and a mango-peach bellini. Needless to say I was ready to get my Mother’s Day started!

I'm no food photographer, but this dish was so good!

I’m no food photographer, but this dish was so good!

Shane and the boys brainstormed what to get me this year and decided I needed a new purse. A big beautiful brown leather Coach purse to be exact. Those guys certainly know how to make a girl feel special!

DSC_0079

We spent part of the morning at a nearby park, letting the boys burn off some energy. Caleb did a fantastic job walking all around with his toy walker. I’m looking forward to when his pediatric walker arrives from the therapist. He’s going to have an easier time maneuvering that one, I hope.

DSC_0113

DSC_0037

DSC_0110

We left the park and went home to feed the boys a light lunch and turned right back around and drove to Chef Geoff’s restaurant for a late lunch. (Are you seeing a food theme, here?) We purposefully arrived very early because we were hoping the boys would fall asleep in the car, which they did. They were able to get a good nap before our reservation time. When we checked out the restaurant, we realized it was fancier than we anticipated. There were linen napkins and tablecloths and a very hushed atmosphere compared to our neighborhood Applebee’s. Here’s where I have to brag… the boys were awesome. They sat in their highchairs like little men, eating their fruit or coloring on the menu. The restaurant was so accommodating. They brought our food out quickly and had fruit and muffins on the table as we were seated to give the boys something to munch on. Unfortunately, the boys didn’t have much of an appetite since they had previously eaten a little at home, but were still well-behaved and polite little boys. Not wanting to tempt fate, Shane and I wolfed down our food before the boys had a chance to start acting up. I left the restaurant feeling very proud of Caleb & Wyatt. No meltdowns, crying or throwing food! It’s like they knew it was a special occasion and behaved accordingly!

DSC_0117

 

DSC_0118

The rest of the day was spent just hanging out with the little dudes. I actually managed to sneak in a 20-minute power nap when we returned from the restaurant and let me tell you, that was glorious! I’m sure Shane could have used a break from kid-wrangling all day, but he never complained and actually encouraged me to take a nap. Wanna earn points with your wife? Tell her to go take a nap. Seriously!

Truthfully, I would be unable to be a good mom without him by my side helping to raise our boys. If you calculated the hours in a given month that we spend taking care of them while the other one is at work, you’d find that Shane is solo way more often than I am due to my work schedule. I know we live in a different time, but it’s very reassuring to know that my husband can run the household (cooking, chores and childcare) just as well as I can. Don’t get me wrong, it’s nice to have a day dedicated to me as a mom, but I feel a little guilty knowing that I have it easier than most.

DSC_0029

Now if only I could figure out a way to be able to sleep in and nap every weekend, my life would be perfect.

DSC_0048

DSC_0083a

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Family, Weekend

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

