Spring Break in Maine

DSC_0495

We returned yesterday from a fabulous week off to visit my friends and family in Maine. What an awesome trip! The older the boys get, the easier it is to travel with them. The flight to Portland was only an hour so Caleb slept on my lap and Wyatt was entertained with toys and my Kindle. Completely easy breezy. Well, I mean, as easy breezy as one can look while pushing a stroller, dragging a suitcase and balancing a huge shoulder bag. I’m sure we are quite the sight!

We stayed with friends on our first night and the boys loved checking out Danielle and Ray’s bulldog, Braddock. If there’s anything this vacation has taught me, it’s that my boys LOVE dogs. I definitely see a dog joining our family in the future, just not sure when. Of course, if Shane has his choice, we’d get one tomorrow. It’s a big decision and I need to know that we have the adequate time in our lives to properly take care of a dog. We’ll just have to wait and see!

I was able to get together with some of my girlfriends while Shane stayed home with our sleeping boys. There’s nothing better than catching up with friends. Even though years have passed, it still feels like we’re in the living room of our college suite, drinking and laughing into late in the night. I’ll tell you what is drastically different, however… the hangovers. Ouch.

The next day we made a six hour drive to my parents home in northern Maine. The boys did pretty well for most of the trip but they were definitely ready to be out of the car! I think you can get answers out of any spy if you put them in a car with two screaming toddlers for an extended period of time. Foolproof interrogation method for sure!

The week with my parents was fantastic. We kept busy by taking the boys for stroller walks, going swimming, visiting relatives and tormenting my parent’s dog, Buddy. The boys slept great in their pack ‘n plays, had a decent appetite and behaved pretty well, with the occasional tantrum here and there. We were lucky enough to have another family lend us a ton of toys, so those kept them very well entertained. I loved watching the boys bond with my parents. Every morning (at 6am on the nose) they would wake up and spend some time with their Memere and Pepere watching cartoons or playing or reading books. It was really sweet. Just hearing them from the other room, while I got to enjoy a few extra minutes of shut-eye, was priceless.

DSC_0139

Trying chicken stew for the first time!

DSC_0147

Don’t forget the ployes! (an Acadian delicacy!)

DSC_0151

DSC_0161

DSC_0197

DSC_0208

DSC_0213

 

DSC_0487

My oldest brother, Tom, lives about 30 minutes from my parents with his wife, Jen and their son, Noah. My youngest brother Tyler, who lives in Portland, decided to take a few days off work to spend time with us at home, which was awesome. Not to be left out, my other brother, Todd (#lotsofbrothers) also flew in to visit from Arizona. It has been such a long time since I’ve seen him and he was finally able to meet his nephews! It’s been a long time since my whole family has been all together and I’m so glad that we were able to catch up and just hang out. One night, we left the boys at home with my parents so the siblings (and spouses, of course) could go out to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. We had an absolute blast and I got to split this 4 lb. beauty with Shane.   So. Much. Yum.

photo (39)

DSC_0247

DSC_0286

 

DSC_0217

 

DSC_0354

 

I loved watching my boys play with their cousin, Noah. He’s only 9 months younger than they are and they really got along well together. Noah is totally fearless and it was really funny to see him interact with Caleb and Wyatt. I have a feeling those three will get into a lot of trouble in the years to come.

DSC_0179

DSC_0192

DSC_0351

DSC_0318

I loved being able to spend time with my extended family and it’s so fun to see the next generation of cousins playing together! Both of my grandmothers are doing very well and we even had a party to celebrate my maternal grandmother’s 85th birthday!

DSC_0511

DSC_0469

DSC_0508

DSC_0458

DSC_0267

DSC_0254

DSC_0277

One of the best experiences was spending some time at a real maple sugar camp. There’s no road up to this camp so we walked about 1/2  a mile in the snow/mud to the middle of the woods. A small trailer housed a huge tub filled with clear sap from the surrounding maple trees. A second building housed an even bigger tub that was filled with boiling sap. A log-burning fire heats up the tub to boil the sap which caramelizes and turns into maple syrup. A pot full of that syrup was then heated even further to turn into a sticky taffy. The taffy is poured onto fresh white snow to cool and rolled up with a popsicle stick. This taffy, I swear, is one of my top 5 favorite foods. It’s been years since I’ve had fresh maple taffy and this experience did not disappoint. Even Shane, who doesn’t really like sweets, liked it a lot. This delicacy is only available in the spring which is why I haven’t had any during my summer or holiday visits.

Maple sugar shack in the middle of the woods.

Maple sugar shack in the middle of the woods.

DSC_0424

Pouring fresh taffy on the snow

DSC_0427

 

DSC_0418

DSC_0403

DSC_0437

The only problem with our vacation was that it passed by too quickly! Soon enough we were driving back down to Portland and were able to stay with friends once again. Ashley and Andy’s daughter, Ruby, is so adorable and we got a chuckle from Wyatt who couldn’t say Ruby, but rather called the baby Reba! Ha! Both boys loved their dog, Gus, even though he is easily twice their size. Luckily for them, he is friendly and doesn’t mind his tail being messed with. Ashley and Andy had our other friends over to their house for dinner and once the boys were in bed, we sat around drinking and catching up. Good times. We paid for our late night, however. The boys decided their last night on vacation would be the perfect time to have a crappy night’s sleep, which made for a difficult morning. Our quick flight (but not so quick Metro ride) got us home around 4:30, so the boys were able to play outside a little, have dinner and baths and an early bed time. Well,  who am I kidding, it was an early bedtime for all of us after our eventful week in Maine.

I’m so happy to have been able to see and spend time with so many good friends and my family for the past week. Now after a week off, it’s back to work, daycare, therapy and doctor’s appointments for the Danielson fam. My to-do list may be quite long but my mind is clear and my heart is so, so full.

DSC_0246

Oh, did I mention that my stomach is so, so full, as well?

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Vacation
8 comments on “Spring Break in Maine
  1. K says:

    Awesome post! Sounds like you guys had a great time. I love Maine! & OMG that taffy looks incredible! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Sharon Arnold says:

    Thank You so much for sharing, I can’t remember the last time I saw your grandmother Hachey..And your brothers my how they’ve all grown to be such nice looking young men..My favorite pic is of the 3 boys on the couch adorable…And your Aunts it’s been awhile since I’ve seen them…Happy to hear you had a great wk…

  3. Linda Palmer says:

    I felt like I was along for the ride! Lovely vacation for you and your family. Thanks for
    sharing.

  4. Lisa Welch says:

    Lots of love all around!

  5. Darlene says:

    I loved this post! It was so nice to hear about your exciting vacation. I Looove the east coast! My husband and went on a road trip for our honeymoon. A good friend got married in Nova Scotia, so we went there, took the CAT ferry (i think thats how you spell it?!) to Maine, drove to New Hampshire, Vermont and then home. It was in the fall and sooooo beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

