Easter!

Although this was the boys’ second Easter, it felt like it was the first year that they really got to participate in some of the fun activities associated with Easter. After an awesome day at the National Zoo on Saturday (pictures to come later this week), we decided it would be fun to let them dye Easter eggs.

Trying to make it an organized activity

Trying to make it an organized activity

Despite having four adults assisting the process, it was still a mess. A fun mess, but a mess, nonetheless. I don’t think boys in general understand the term “gentle” or “careful” so the eggs would plop into the dye cup and splash all around. Wyatt’s favorite part was dropping the eggs in the dye, so he was really upset when it was time to take them out. Caleb, on the other hand, liked the distinct sound of an egg cracking as he slammed it onto this tray, over and over. He’s a sneaky one when you take your eyes off him. I think out of the 12 eggs, there were 4 that were cracked but they got dyed anyways.

Wyatt shortly before spilling the cup of yellow dye all over the floor. My reaction? "It's ok, it's just dye."

Wyatt shortly before spilling the cup of yellow dye all over the floor. My reaction? “It’s ok, it’s just dye.”

He really liked dying the eggs and was definitely upset when it was over.

He really liked dying the eggs and was definitely upset when it was over.

Success!

Success!

We woke up early the next day and explained to the boys that the Easter Bunny had stopped by and we would be looking for his eggs that he hid.

DSC_0286

 

That's one generous Easter Bunny!

That’s one generous Easter Bunny!

Caleb loves his new Elton John-style sunglasses!

Caleb loves his new Elton John-style sunglasses!

Egg on a stair...

Egg on a stair…

Egg in workbench

Egg in the workbench

MORE!

MORE!

The plastic eggs had M&Ms in them, so they made a cool noise when you shook them. Once Caleb had his hands on one, he had little interest in finding any others. Wyatt, however, would find one, then demand “MORE!” as he loaded egg after egg into his pail. We tried to slow him down, so Caleb would have a chance to find a few more, but Caleb was as happy as a clam with his three or four eggs while Wyatt had well over a dozen in his. The boys enjoyed their chocolate candies before 8 am while I thought about the change since one year ago, when these boys couldn’t even crawl yet!

The rest of my morning was spent preparing an Easter brunch for our family and friends. I love cooking and entertaining but unfortunately it’s something I don’t get a chance to do very often. There is nothing more satisfying than preparing a meal for your loved ones. It’s even better when the food turns out well! Here’s my Easter brunch spread:

Yum!

Yum!

Fruit Salad (brought by our friends, Jess & Matt)

Farmers Market Kale Salad

Easy Lemon Pull-Apart Rolls

Spinach, Mushroom & Feta Frittata

The only downside to yesterday was the fact that Wyatt got his first black eye. He’s been showing off his new jumping skills and just so happened to be too close to the coffee table. He banged the area right below his eye and it instantly turned black/blue and swelled into an egg shape. I think I was more upset about it than he was. He was pretty cautious of that table for the rest of the night. Poor little fella. I’m sure it won’t be his last!

So tough while watching TV.

So tough while watching TV.

In a great mood despite my shiner!

In a great mood despite my shiner!

Yesterday was truly a memorable Easter (in more ways than one) and I have a feeling that this will turn into one of my favorite holidays as the boys continue to grow. Oh and I just peeked at the 10 day forecast and it looks like spring is here to stay! *knocks on wood*  I’m so looking forward to FINALLY putting away the winter coats, you know, for a couple of weeks until we go see my parents in Maine. Brr!

DSC_0314

My bunnies ❤

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Holidays
One comment on “Easter!
  1. […] a fantastic Easter brunch. I love to cook and try new recipes so I pulled out all the stops for this brunch as well as Easter […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

