March Sadness

Welp, there goes my husband. For the next three weeks, our single television will be tuned to the NCAA college basketball tournament. It’s not that I hate watching basketball, but I’d be satisfied with watching the last 3 minutes of every game. No point in watching the rest, really. My extended family competes in a bracket challenge and I (miraculously) won last year, so the pressure is on to keep the traveling trophy with the Maryland Danielsons. I filled out my bracket within 5 minutes on Monday and I’ve already forgotten most of my picks. Heck, I don’t know if I even remember all of the teams I picked for my final four! That’s my strategy, though. Don’t overthink it! Let’s hope it works again!

I’m not sure if I jinxed myself when I wrote a few weeks ago how spring was essentially on our doorstep. Judging on the snow on my car this morning, it appears spring has retreated and I’m not sure when it’s coming back. In years past, I can remember temperatures in the 70s and driving with the windows down. With the Cherry Blossom Festival starting this weekend and Easter right around the corner I’m hoping we can start enjoying all the fun activities that take place outdoors. The DC area really only has a couple months of nice weather in the spring and fall. The summer here can be miserable. Temps climb into the 80s and 90s on a regular basis and the humidity is brutal! Unless you’re at a pool or splash park, the heat is pretty unbearable. With my luck we’ll have 2 weeks of nice weather then the mugginess and mosquitos will move in for the remainder of the summer. I’m just so ready to hit up some parks and push the boys on the swings. Also, I’m SO TIRED of their winter clothes. If I have to dress them in the same pant/shirt combo one more time…

I’ve been making some good progress on my 29 Before 29 list! My first bikram yoga class was fantastic. I was so proud for just staying in the room the whole 90 minutes. The room is heated to a balmy 100 degrees and you’re taught 26 postures. I was one of two first-time bikram students. The other girl left about half way through because it just wasn’t for her. I was definitely sweating from every pore on my body but it felt so good. I have 5 more weekday classes on my pass and I look forward to squeezing in a class from time to time. The studio is about 20 minutes away and the class is 90 minutes so it definitely eats up a chunk of my day that is normally reserved for cleaning and running errands. I think choosing exercise is never a bad decision, right? Number 16, check!

I spent most of January and all of February trying to figure out why my new Nike sneakers were giving me blisters every time I ran. I tried new socks, using BodyGlide and also orthopedic inserts. I think the problem was that the middle of the shoe was just too wide and my feet were moving around too much despite how tight I tied them. I loved my Nikes, but I just couldn’t continue to run in pain. I traded them in for a pair of New Balance Nimbus sneakers. I’m not going to lie. They are hideous. Being a 90s kid, I like the cool neon trend that’s going on, but this shoe just took it too far. Don’t believe me?

DO YOU HAVE A HEADACHE YET?

I think these shoes should be reserved for someone who is much younger and much faster than I, but whatever. I’m now back on track with my training for my 10K. It feels so great to run without getting blisters, but I still have shin splints that bother me every once a while. My next step is to actually sign up for a 10K. Then there will be no turning back. Number 5, in progress.

I cleaned my fridge top to bottom. It was on the list because it just had to get done. I thought it would take like 30 minutes and it took closer to 2 hours. What a pain! No wonder I never do it! I will say that I have a better idea of what’s in there now. I had a bit of a problem with purchasing ingredients that I didn’t know I already had on hand. Two bottles of lime juice, two bottles of red wine vinegar, two squeeze tubes of cilantro herb blend (?) and THREE jars of cocktail sauce! What the heck? Anyways, the bottom line is my fridge looks and smells much better and I’m going to ensure that I never go that long between cleaning again. Number 7, check!

I’m looking forward to a visit from my in-laws next week. The boys have changed SO much since Christmas, so it’ll be a surprise to see how much better Caleb is walking and to hear Wyatt (correctly) point out his colors. A few weeks later, we’re heading up to Maine to see my family. I wouldn be bummed if we didn’t see them again until the holidays, so a trip was in order. We’re really looking forward to all this quality time spent with family in the next few weeks and I’m selfishly looking forward to some extra hands!

Well, this was really random, but what can I say, I had to entertain myself while Shane monopolizes the TV.

"Give your brother a kiss!"

“Give your brother a kiss!”

 

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

