Late-Winter Weekend

Weekends are just good for the soul. I love that for two whole days we don’t really have anywhere to be or anything to do except enjoy each other. This weekend was no exception. We took the boys to IKEA on Saturday to buy them their first train set. Shane got a recommendation from a co-worker that the set at IKEA is made out of wood, a decent size and only $10! We went to go check it out and made the good decision to arrive shortly after the store opened for the day. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a zoo, but much more manageable than it would’ve been even an hour or two later. We were also checking into a few things for our entryway, which is currently at the beginning stages of a (long-overdue) makeover. In and out in under an hour and under $100 worth of merchandise must be some sort of world record for IKEA.

We went to a local restaurant for lunch and I decided to go the healthy route and get a salad. Ha. This salad had chili, cheese and sour cream on top and a few tortilla chips as a garnish which makes it the most unhealthiest salad ever. The boys were really well behaved and found ways to entertain themselves while we ate. Caleb kept playing peek-a-boo with Shane’s jacket which was hanging up within arms reach of Mr. C.  Later, Shane discovered what appeared to be macaroni & cheese type stains and realized that Caleb wasn’t just playing peek-a-boo, but also using Daddy’s coat as a napkin.

Wyatt, on the other hand, kept looking over at the table next to us and when he’d get their attention he would give this slow, flirty smile and I could swear he was blushing. When I turned around to see what all the fuss was about, there sat a pretty blonde woman cooing over Wyatt. I could not, for the life of me, get Wyatt to continue eating at that point. It was a full-fledged game and I’m just thankful that the women were the kid-friendly types who didn’t mind an almost two-year-old staring at them while they ate.

On Sunday, Shane spent part of the morning putting together a piece of furniture I ordered. Furniture assembly isn’t my thing but luckily, Shane had two helpers.

Well, I guess Wyatt just supervised…

Feb 206

And Caleb used his toy hammer to give our perfectly good coffee table a “distressed” look.

Feb 203

Our only outing on Sunday was out to lunch with another family who we haven’t seen in way too long. We met Beth and Tom during our birthing class in 2011! Our kids were born within days of each other and we’ve stayed friends ever since! Their daughter, Lily, is such a cutie and will be a big sister in a few months! We got caught up and had a delicious meal with three well behaved kids, which is nothing short of a miracle!

We got Wyatt and Lily to hold hands just long enough to snap this pic. So cute!

541434_10101705554866272_2022409063_n

 

I can’t help but think how big these kids have gotten since one year ago when they had swimming classes together!

photo (16)

 

Where did those babies (and those fat rolls) go?!?!

We spent the rest of Sunday attempting to take a nap (fail) and playing outside on their swing set (success!).  These sunny, late-winter days have me really looking forward to spring. I even noticed some buds on one of our bushes in our yard! I was able to snap some pics of the boys playing with their dad. I used to think that if given the chance to have a super power I’d want to teleport (somewhere exotic for a weekend or simply up to bed when I’ve fallen asleep on the couch… again) but I think I’d rather have the ability to freeze time. Surely it doesn’t get better than this, right?

Feb 216

Feb 225

Feb 230

Feb 233

Feb 239

Feb 242

Feb 247

Feb 250

Feb 251

Feb 254

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Weekend
5 comments on “Late-Winter Weekend
  1. Darlene says:

    Another enjoyable post! Love reading your blogs! What terrific pictures:). I too wish I could freeze time. It is going by way to quicklime *sigh*. I enjoy all the time we have but I want it to last forever!!

    • That’s life I suppose, huh? I just remind myself when we’re having a bad day that the boys are never going to be this young again and it helps to but things in perspective.

      • Louise Beaulieu says:

        Hi…would love to write my post in the right place, but there must be a glitch and right now I cannot post in the comment section….on that note…love the pictures…all so wonderful….thanks for posting…love the one of you and the 2 boys peeking out of the playground equipment….you know what? Your little boy will prosper over the moon bcause he has such loving, and wonderful parents….enjoy your little family….

  2. Deb Lavoie says:

    Hi Allison,

    I always look forward to your posts 🙂 I especially love the pics that you post. You just have the cutest boys! I recently ordered a book for a friend and I really think your boys would get a kick out of it. It’s called Press Here by Herve Tullet. It is a print book but it is so interactive. Just a suggestion 🙂

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
