Costco, I Love You

What would you do if you won the lottery? Would you buy a fancy house, cars, a new wardrobe? I would definitely do all those things, but most importantly, I finally be able to buy anything I want at Costco. Costco (my favorite wholesale club) is only 5 minutes away from my house and despite buying in bulk, I find myself there just about once a week. We never used to have a membership when we lived in our small, 1-bedroom condo in the city, but now that we have more storage space (and a deep freezer), Costco has become my second home. It started as a great place to buy excellent cuts of steak and very affordable ground beef in bulk. We’d portion them out, throw them in the freezer and use as needed. A definite money-saver.

Costco wipes for life.

Costco wipes for life.

Once we had kids, we bought diapers, wipes and formula in bulk. Somehow, we still went through everything so quickly! Nine-hundred wipes? Gone. Over 250 diapers? Poof, disappeared. I felt like my paycheck should get directly deposited to Costco every pay day. Now that we’re past the formula phase, that has decreased my trips to my favorite store. It never fails, though, that when I walk the aisles, I’m always snapping pictures of things we “need” and sending them to Shane. Mind you, these are definitely not things we need, but at such a bargain, how can you pass it up?

Nice, right?!?

Nice, right?!?

I told Shane these patio umbrellas were really nice and at $59.99 a fantastic deal. His response? “Ali, our deck is in the shade all day long. We have no need for an umbrella.” Dang it, Shane. Way to crush my dreams.

I thought about trying to convince him we also needed this piano. Ha.

Wouldn't that look fantastic in our...... umm... backyard?

Wouldn’t that look fantastic in our…… umm… backyard?

I always buy the boys’ Carters pajamas at Costco, since they’re the cheapest price around (aside from Mardens in Madawaska, ME). Newborn outfits also make great baby shower gifts. Who doesn’t love shopping for teeny-tiny clothes?!

Aww jammie wammies with the footie wooties

Aww jammie wammies with the footie wooties

The meat selection is fantastic and very affordable so we stock up on ground beef and huge sirloins every few weeks. YUM!

Mmmm burgers.

Mmmm burgers.

There are some bulk items, however, that I just don’t understand. Aside from a restaurant, how do you go through all that food before it spoils?

I mean, even Paula Deen couldn't go through 4 lbs of butter.

I mean, even Paula Deen couldn’t go through 4 lbs of butter.

Must be one serious pregnancy craving to warrant the purchase of a GALLON of pickles.

Must be one serious pregnancy craving to warrant the purchase of a GALLON of pickles.

Order up! Here's 7 1/2 dozen eggs for your weekend breakfast.

Order up! Here’s 7 1/2 dozen eggs for your weekend breakfast.

Or maybe you're making a really big egg salad sandwich with a GALLON of mayo

Or maybe you’re making a really big egg salad sandwich with a GALLON of mayo.

Sure, perusing the aisles of Costco and taking advantage of free samples is fun but this is never a relaxing outing. The parking lot is a nightmare, the store is always packed and the checkout lines are long. You really need to pay attention to what you’re doing, otherwise, your cart will get rammed by a seemingly sweet old lady whose trying to snag a sample of Cool Whip (seriously?). The huge cart will slow down a novice Costco shopper, but not I. I can dodge and dart young and old alike with a flick of my wrist. In my relatively inexperienced days, there was a language barrier between myself and the cashier which confused me and I somehow ended up buying $160 worth of stamps. Not my finest shopping experience.

My perfect day would include an empty Costco with lots of sales and food samples (in addition to a private jet shuttling me off to Paris for a romantic dinner). I’d take my time and dance through the aisles, singing and twirling like I’m the star of Suburbs: The Musical. Until then, I’ll shuffle along with the crowd and figure out what to make with a gallon of mayonnaise.

Would you like a side of fries with your crowded mess of an exit?

Would you like a side of fries with your crowded mess of an exit?

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Costco, I Love You
  1. K says:

    Hahaha – I love this post!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,520
Recent Posts
