Long, Lazy Weekend

What a fun, relaxing long weekend at home! I was on call on Saturday and Sunday so we didn’t really do much outside of the house. We definitely did a lot of playing this weekend; with cars, with balls, with crayons on paper and in their mouths, with their new occuational therapy jar (which I’ll describe later). It was just a really relaxing time in our warm home protected from the really cold temps and strong wind gusts.

Yesterday we took the boys to Applebee’s and had a fantastic time. Think what you’d like, but that place knows how to cater to families. The boys were entertained with crayons before their food arrived and they continued to play while we took our turn to eat. It was just a really nice meal together. While the boys napped, Shane and I took turns going for a run. I really tried to think of every excuse not to go and I’m actually quite amazed that I did.

Yesterday afternoon, I also played around with my work camera (a Nikon D90) to see if I could start taking better pictures and subsequently cross #3 off of my 29 Before 29 list. I played with different settings and took advantage of the late afternoon light that was streaming in through the window. I think some of them came out really well and were a decent first effort.

DSC_0007

DSC_0013

DSC_0019

DSC_0029

DSC_0047

DSC_0048

Shane also picked up the camera and ended up capturing some terrific shots while the boys and I were FaceTiming with my parents.

DSC_0054

DSC_0066

DSC_0070

I still have lots to learn and I haven’t even really explored all the things I could do if I played around with Photoshop but it’s a start!

The boys were entertained for quite some time by our new occupational therapy jar. Our therapist suggested finding a clear jar and filling it with small toys that were different colors/sizes/shapes. We put a hole in the lid, so Caleb has to push the objects into the container. Once filled, I take off the lid and encourage him to reach inside, grasp all the different little toys and shapes and pull them out, one by one. The four of us played with that jar for almost 30 minutes, which is a really long time when it comes to entertaining toddlers.  The container is actually a plastic jar of Planters Honey Roasted Peanuts. I removed the peanuts and the exterior label, washed it thoroughly and used an assortment of scissors and knives to get a hole in the lid. I probably should have used sandpaper to smooth the edges, but I opted to melt them instead. I’m anxious to see what the therapist thinks of my jar when I show it to her next week.

DSC_0014

Underwater friends

DSC_0016

Pom-poms and foam shapes.

DSC_0033

Shake ’em out!

Not long after these pictures were taken, during “witching hour” (you know, the time of day when your kids alternate between hitting you in the face and crying to sit on your lap) Shane made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. He suggested that after the kids went to sleep, he’d pour me a glass of wine and send me off to take a bubble bath. I mean, who would say no to that? The bubble bath fairy even set up a bouquet of flowers and candles for me! It was the first time in a really long time that I actually relaxed and listened to music with my eyes closed. Not sure how long I was actually in the tub, but when I finally got out, I felt like a whole new person. Despite the fact that our tub drain didn’t have a tight enough seal and I therefore had to take a bath in the kids’ bathroom alongside their toys, it was a fantastic way to knock off one item on my 29 Before 29 list. Who knows, maybe a bubble bath will be a weekly tradition from now on!

photo (35)
I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in 29 Before 29, Weekend
5 comments on “Long, Lazy Weekend
  1. Sharon Arnold says:

    Ali you & I don’t know ea. that well but knowing your parents & your grandmother & your Aunts & Uncles really well since we all grew up together I feel like I know you well enough to comment on your blog. I so look forward to your blogs how the boys are doing especially Caleb. I see him progressing w/ every blog. You & Shane are doing such a great job w/ the boys. You seem to have a great husband who is a big help to you & the boys…Your blogs sometimes make me laugh & sometimes make me cry..I share some w/ my youngest daughter when I see the boys doing something that Abby has done..Keep up the great work that you’re doing w/ both boys & I will look forward to your next blog..

    Love to you both
    Sharon Arnold

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment Sharon! And you’re right, I do have a very supportive husband who is very hands on and 100% invested in his boys. I’m a very lucky lady!

  2. Bron says:

    Great to catch up on your news! The boys are looking great!

  3. […] with the therapist. We play with his small treasures that are pushed into and plucked out of his jar that I made, we encourage him to use silverware to eat and suggest he use his right hand more since he seems to […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

