29 Before 29

A couple weeks ago, while persuing through new posts from my favorite bloggers, I came across this post written by Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point.  Like Caitlin, I, too, will be turning 29 soon. One last year of being classified as a 20-something, rather than a 30-s0mething. I’m not dreading my upcoming birthday, per se, but I wouldn’t say I’m looking forward to it either. I’ll be a 29 year old wife and mom of two and that’s totally fine by me. I wanted to start my 30th year on the right foot, so totally copying Caitlin’s idea, I decided to craft my own version of my “29 before 29” list. Here’s the 29 things I’d like to accomplish before I turn 29 on June 1st:

1. Take the boys to the National Zoo in DC. They went once but they were pretty young. I think they’d really get a kick out of seeing so many of the animals we see in our books.

2. Take the boys swimming. Last winter the boys were in a weekly swim class and I just signed them up for the spring session of AquaTots! I’m so excited to continue to develop their affinity for the pool and swimming is a great source of therapy for Caleb!

3. Start taking better photographs. It’s easy to whip out my phone to take a quick picture, but I need to try to take real photos that are in focus with a better quality camera. The only way I’ll get better is to practice but I’m hoping to see a difference in my pictures by the time my birthday rolls around.

4. Make-over the look of the blog. This page has served me well for some time now, but I’m hoping to spruce it up with a new WordPress theme, fonts and maybe a logo of sorts, if I’m feeling crazy.

5. Run a 10K. I’m still running a couple times a week and have noticed an improvement in my times. Whenever I run a “long” run, I am able to recover faster. The good thing is I know I’ll set a personal record, since it’ll be my first 10K!

6. Re-organize my recipe collection. I have a huge drawer that is stuffed to the gills with cookbooks and printed out recipes from online. Some recipes I love and some I never made but I need to get them all organized because I can never find what I’m looking for! My mom gifted me with a binder containing the recipes of some of my favorite dishes growing up and I desperate need to update it!

7. Clean our refrigerator. Like a real, deep clean. Top to bottom, shelves, drawers, walls. This is something I should do regularly, and I just don’t.

8. Sit in a coffee shop and read for one hour. This will likely be my easiest task. There’s just something so relaxing about a fancy coffee drink and the background noise of people coming and going. Maybe I should re-write my list to just do this 29 times!

9. Take the stairs up to my office at least once a day. The stairs are a more direct route, but 5 floors up! I remember when we first moved into the building I was huffing and puffing by the third floor.  Now, I’m breathing pretty heavy by the time I reach the top but not winded by any means.

10. Sell/Donate/Save massive piles of baby clothes. Don’t be mistaken… despite their small size, baby clothes certainly add up! Especially when you have two sets of everything! It’s unclear as to whether or not our family is complete but we’re more than likely not going to have twin boys again (right? right?!?) so I need to organize the pile mountain of outgrown clothes before it takes over our entire closet.

11. Decorate the house for Easter/Spring. I tend to think I do a good job of decorating our home for Christmas, but after that, there’s no decorating until the fall and this year I’d like to add a few pops of color to freshen things up. Decorating will be on the cheap, so I’m hoping to hit up Home Goods or World Market for some thrifty finds.

12. Mommy & Wyatt day! Just me and Wy-Guy doing something fun.

13. Mommy & Caleb day! Just me and my Mr. C, and there is to be NO doctors appointments and NO therapy on our special day.

14. Beat Shane at a game of tennis. I came so close the last time we played but just couldn’t beat him. Hopefully I can just beat him once so I can retire and never play him again. Ha! I’m actually not that hell-bent on winning, just playing for an hour is a treat in and of itself.

15. Movie date with Shane. We’ve only seen 2 movies since I was pregnant and it used to be one of our favorite things to do.

16. Try a hot yoga class. I used to enjoy taking yoga and pilates classes at my old gym, but my gym membership fell by the way side once the kids came along, so I miss taking those group classes. Hot yoga is one that I haven’t tried yet, but I think I would love it!

17. Family outing for ice cream on a sunny day. It never fails… every year in the spring there’s that one sunny, unseasonably warm day that seems to tell you that winter is finally over. Growing up, in Maine, I would ride my bike down the street (alongside the dirty melting snow) to the Tastee Freez to get some ice cream. I’m hoping to re-create those “Tastee Freez” days despite the warmer temperatures here in Maryland. Heck, we’ve already had a 67-degree day a few weeks ago.

18. Build up to 50 real push-ups. This one I’m going to have to re-evaluate. I figured I would be able to do 10-15 without really trying since I’m always carrying my 23 lb kids around, but I could only do 6. Six!!! Yikes. This will probably be my hardest item, but if the reward is toned arms on my 29th birthday, then I’ll do my best!

19. Create a piece of art.  A few years ago, I wouldn’t have even known where to start, but now, in the Pinterest-era, I already have ideas and tutorials for an easy project.

20. Take a long bubble bath. I can’t even remember the last time I’ve taken a bath. Definitely looking forward to this one!

21. Make-over our entryway.  We are desperately overdue for an area to hang our coats and hide our shoes. This one might end up costing the most money but I’m hoping not more than $150. I’m on the lookout for a storage bench and some cute hooks.

22. Spend a day volunteering. I might tag along with Shane the next time he volunteers for the Special Olympics or help out at the local food bank.

23. Finish the book on my Kindle. I downloaded a book over the holidays that I think I’m only 5% done. If I just turned off the TV a little earlier I could read maybe 20 minutes before bed. I’ll be sure to put a dent in it when I’m working on #8!

24. Pay for someone’s order at the Starbucks/Dunkin’ Donuts drive-thru. I know it would make my day! The best part about random acts of kindness is the snowball effect they can have, so who knows what that person might do to pay it forward.

25. Hang updated photos of the boys in our home. We have a long hallway upstairs that doesn’t contain a single picture. Not one. That needs to change!

26. Take Caleb & Wyatt to Port Discovery in Baltimore. This childrens museum is supposed to be fantastic and would be a really fun day trip for our family!

27. Enjoy a picnic at Wheaton Regional Park.  There are tons of great parks in our area but this one has a huge play area, swings, miniature train and a carousel. Combined with a picnic lunch, it sounds like the perfect day.

28. Prepare a fantastic Easter brunch. My mother and father-in-law will be in town and I’m hoping to put out a really impressive spread.

29. Take the boys to see the cherry blossoms in DC. Hopefully we can make our way down there during the week, otherwise it’ll be super crowded, but I really want to start a tradition of visiting the beautiful blooms that frame the Tidal Basin.

So? What do you think about my list? Pretty ambitious? Each item serves to either better myself, improve the look of our home or strengthen my relationship with my kids and husband. Starting today, I will have exactly 16 weeks to complete my 29 tasks. I look forward to chronicling and sharing my progress.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Turning 29
5 comments on “29 Before 29
  1. hollilong says:

    Love your idea of spending a day with each twin. I try to make some one-on-one time with my guys as well. Not always easy to do, but so great when it works out. Good luck on your list!

  2. […] are many more exhibits we have yet to explore! I was very happy to have added this place on my 29 Before 29 list; another task crossed […]

  3. […] been making some good progress on my 29 Before 29 list! My first bikram yoga class was fantastic. I was so proud for just staying in the room the whole 90 […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

