The Funny Thing About Kids

I’m actually starting to draft this post at 3:30am since I’ve been awake for the past hour and a half with Caleb. Is he sick? Nope, just wide awake and will scream at the top of his lungs if I dare deposit him back in his crib. So for now he’s all wound up and crawling around in hopes that he’ll tire soon. Somehow I’m still the one that’ll feel bad when I have to wake him up for daycare in the morning. The funny thing about Caleb is that despite being angry after my repeated attempts to let him ‘cry it out’ failed when I walked in his room I realized why he was so worked up. In his crib, Caleb pulled himself into a standing position all on his own! I couldn’t believe it. No wonder he was upset! He had no clue how to get down! Poor kid. He never ceases to amaze me and I didn’t mind playing with him (until 4am!) after I realized how excited he was about his new trick!

We’re just in the beginning phases of trying to discipline the boys. It’s obviously a losing battle when it comes to playing with doors if you haven’t already read my previous post. Another habit of Wyatt’s is really starting to get on my last nerve. Whenever we go anywhere in the car, that little bugger takes off his shoes and socks. Both of  them! Whether the ride is 5 minutes or an hour, he’s barefooted. Whether it’s a mild sunny day or in the single digits, he’ll end up shoe-less. It drives me crazy because I’m usually right on time, but having to find and put on both socks and shoes adds precious minutes to the already annoying process of removing kids from car seats in the winter (the jackets and hats and stroller, ugh). I’ve tried to catch him in the act and remind him not to do that but he knows I’m not going to do anything about it while I’m driving so he carries on like I haven’t said a thing. I’ve tried reasoning (ha!) with him before we get into the car about how I need him to be a big boy and keep his shoes on. That hasn’t worked. Well, this week I thought I figured it out. It was a very mild day (in the upper 60s, woo hoo!) but our driveway was wet from some rain so I figured I would put his socks on and take him out of the car without shoes to show him that when you don’t wear shoes, your feet get wet and that will be uncomfortable. I was pretty proud of myself for coming up with this lesson and I was sure it was going to work because Wyatt doesn’t like getting his hands dirty and he’ll stand in one place just to avoid walking in snow. Surely he’ll realize that it’s important to keep his shoes on! The funny thing about Wyatt? He’s very unpredictable and wouldn’t you know it… he loved hanging out in wet socks in the driveway. He was laughing about it and wanting to run around. My lesson had totally backfired and I’m back to the drawing board since I opened the door to a shoe-less Wyatt just this morning at daycare!

The funny thing about kids is the extent you’ll go to get food into their bodies! Our boys go through growth spurts where they are voracious eaters and will consume anything in sight. But we’re not in a growth spurt now and it seems like they now dislike all their old favorites. What gives? Our spoons have been planes, trains and automobiles. They have the option of eating food off their tray, off their special Elmo plates, out of a bowl, straight off the serving plate and now they’ve decided that small, metal condiment cups are their vessel of choice. It makes no sense. According to a complex mathematical algorithm that I never seem to understand, the more time you spend preparing the food, the quicker they’ll be to reject it. Open string cheese and serve in less than 5 seconds? Huge hit! Make homemade meatballs with shredded broccoli salad mixed in? REJECTION! Oh and do you want to know what really makes me pull my hair out? When I try to get one of the boys to try the first bite of something and they dramatically smack the utensil away with a forceful “NO!” and meanwhile, twin #2 is watching this all go down so you can imagine what happens when I offer him the next bite. “No way, lady! If my twin isn’t eating it, neither will I!” I swore I would never be one of those moms that makes 7 different things for dinner because the kids are being picky, but guess what? Here I am, trying food after food after food so my little peanuts can have a full stomach. They might start off liking a food, but once it cools off, they lose interest. And god forbid if they finish what’s in front of them before you’ve had time to prepare some more, they’ll lose their momentum and stop eating just as you served up another helping. I’m a proud member of the Clean Plate Club, and I can’t stand to see food go to waste, so you know who ends up eating what the boys don’t. I haven’t really had a real dinner since Shane left because by the time I put the boys to bed, I’m exhausted! I clean up the kitchen, make something for the boys to eat the next day, load the dishwasher, pour a glass of wine and totally veg out! Making myself dinner seems like an extra chore and I’m not really hungry due to all the grazing, so that’s that.

The funny thing about kids is that they will occasionally fight over the same toy or book despite having so many others to choose from! Or they’ll want to play with your cell phone, or the TV remote even though they have a toy remote, phone and laptop! Isn’t it funny how you can be sitting and watching them play, but the second you decide to leave the room is when they trip and bump their head?

The funny thing about kids is that they drive you crazy but in the best kind of way. Years from now I’ll read these words and laugh and remember the meal standoffs and shoe-less kids and sleepless nights and miss this time. The not-so-funny thing about kids is that they grow up too fast!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Day in the Life, Family, Random, Silliness, Toddler Drama, Uncategorized
4 comments on “The Funny Thing About Kids
  1. Darlene says:

    I love this post! It made me laugh out loud! I know I say this every time I comment on a post, but seriously, mirror image of my life! Marcus constantly takes off his shoes in the car, and smiles at me when he knows I’m not impressed! LOL! I am so excited for Caleb standing up in bed all by himself!!!! I can’t wait for the same to happen with Michael! I know that day will come! My husband’s brother is getting married in July, and our goal with PT is to have Michael walking so he can walk with Marcus down the isle as ring barers. She told us she definately sees Michael walking with the help of a walker! We are so excited! They will be 2 by then. Then we are that much closer to independent walking! I love those AFO’s! They’ve made such a difference! Thank you so much for sharing such personal stories and keeping my chin up!

    • I think that’s the worst part. When you open the door to the car, they give you this adorable little smile that says “I know I wasn’t suppposed to take off my shoes mama, but look how cute I am!” It gets me every time! That’s a great goal for Michael! Twin ring bearers would so cool! I have a secret goal of getting Caleb to walk by his second birthday… fingers crossed! I totally agree about the AFOs too, what a difference!

  2. Michelle says:

    Hi Ali,
    Just found your blog! I have a 3 month old that sounds like a very similar situation to Caleb’s with the in utero brain injury..would like to talk with you some more! On top of that, we live in Northern VA and maybe you are located close to us! Looking to make some connections, especially with someone who understands what this is like…thanks so much, looking forward to hearing from you

    ~Michelle R.

    • alison says:

      I’m so glad you found my blog! I’ve been really wanting to find local moms who are in a similar situation and I’d love to chat more! I’ll follow up to your email address!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,520
Recent Posts
