Greetings from Ocean City!

I think I may have mentioned it in my last post, but Shane and I can officially be given the title as Worst Work Travel Timing Award recipients. It’s a very prestigious honor, I assure you. You see, Shane was gone for two whole weeks  to Russia and I was solo with the boys (with the exception of two days, when I traveled to attend a wedding and the boys stayed with their favorite babysitter). He flew back very late on Saturday night, so technically Sunday morning and about 14 hours later… I left for five nights here in Ocean City, Maryland. So yeah, the timing is not great, but it makes me look forward to our Christmas vacation in Colorado all that more! Ten glorious days surrounded by family and the Rocky Mountains! I. CAN. NOT. WAIT.

This is going to be the longest I’ve ever been away from the boys. The first day of the workshop was today and there was a lot of material to cover so the day flew by. But now, I’m here in my hotel room, blogging, looking over the course materials and FaceTime-ing with my boys.

Eat your veggies, Wyatt!

Eat your veggies, Wyatt!

photo 3

I just want to munch on his cheeks!

I do miss them, but this is good for me, good for my career and Shane gets a solid week of bonding time with his boys. I took a page from Shane’s book and I video recorded myself reading a book to Caleb & Wyatt. Shane said when he played the video last night, Wyatt got really upset and started crying. I think he put two and two together and realized that we watched Shane’s video for two weeks when he was away and now he was seeing a very similar video, but with Mommy in it. Ugh. It kind of tears me up, but I’m okay.

After a long 3-hour drive and checking in at the hotel, I found a supermarket and stocked my hotel room fridge with bottled water, berries, oranges, bananas, Jarlsberg cheese and hard boiled eggs so I wouldn’t have to eat fattening muffins and pastries every morning. Finding healthy lunches and dinners might prove  a little more difficult. I’ll get my heart set on one place and then drive there only to find out that it’s closed for the season. This has happened like 4 times already since I’ve been here! I can’t believe there are so many restaurants that close down. Looks like I might have to stick with the chain restaurants but I’m hoping to find some decent seafood at least one night this week. The fog was so heavy last night that I couldn’t even tell that my balcony looked over the ocean. I had a much better view this morning! I’m hoping to capture a beautiful sunrise at some point when the skies are clear!

View from my balcony.

View from my balcony.

Anyone who’s friends with me on Facebook will know that I had quite the eventful first night at this hotel. At 3:30am, the fire alarm went off in the whole building. I threw on a robe and slippers, grabbed my cell phone and room key and bolted for the stairs. I didn’t see anyone in the hallway, stairwell or even in the lobby when I got there. I was panicked for a second… did I dream the alarm? Was I sleepwalking (ahem, my college roommates can attest that I’ve been known to sleepwalk in the past)? Finally, other guests started to pile into the lobby. Most were dressed with coats on and I was left scratching my head. Am I the only one that just ran out in my pj’s? Is that common for people to get dressed before evacuating a (potentially) burning building? It’s the off-season in Ocean City, so there were only a few dozen other guests. The worst part was that I realized that other workshop attendees were likely in my presence, but I hadn’t met anyone else yet, so I had no idea. So there I stood, with my glasses, messy, crooked ponytail, fluffy slippers and pimple cream. To say I was embarrassed would be quite the understatement.  I might as well have been wearing my headgear, circa 1994, you know, the one with the strap behind your neck AND the top of your head. I was a looker, I tell ya. Boy, was I delighted when we were told we could go back inside (did I mention we were standing outside at that point?).  I settled back into bed and just as I started to drift into sleep, the alarm went back off. I couldn’t believe it. You’d think I would’ve learned my lesson and brought my car keys or a warm jacket, but I did not. It must have been the sleep deprivation at that point. A half an hour later, we were allowed to go back into our rooms. I thought for sure the alarms were done for the night, but about 20 minutes later, the alarm went off AGAIN. I just lay there for 5 minutes, thinking that being burned alive sounded like a better alternative than standing out in the cold again. As it just so happens, the security staff figured out how to turn off the alarm and I was giddy with the idea of being able to stay in bed after all. Then… you guessed it… the alarm went off again… for a fourth time! Only a couple of seconds this time, though. I wanted to start crying at the thought of the alarm going off every 2o minutes for the rest of the night. I entertained the idea of just staying away at this point since it was almost 5:00am, but I fell back asleep and when my phone alarm went off at 6:30, I considered playing hooky on my first day of training. A big shout out goes to Dunkin’ Donuts! I couldn’t have kept my eyelids up without you this morning! Thanks!

So that’s all for now. I’m off to find some grub (maybe a beer too!) and study the long list of vocabulary terms we learned today. Tomorrow we get to fling blood, drip blood and watch blood dry and I can’t wait!

My bible for the next week

My bible for the next week

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in My Work

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,520
Recent Posts
