Bring it on!

It’s been a little over a week since Caleb received his new AFOs from the doctor. AFO stands for Ankle Foot Orthotic. His current set are Fast Fit, meaning they are not custom made, but rather off the shelf. From the moment he first started wearing them, we noticed Caleb was able to stand up much straighter. We were no longer having to correct his posture. He’s able to stand up for longer periods of time as well, since his ankles are nicely supported. We’ve been working with the physical therapist to teach him how to shift his weight from one side to the other and that is proving pretty difficult. We’ll put a small box or a stack of 3 books for him to rest one foot on, while the other remains on the floor. You can tell it doesn’t feel right for him to have one leg bent and one straight, so he immediately tries to straighten his bent leg.

;

I have to say Caleb totally surprised us all at his therapy session this week. I was a few minutes late to the session which was taking place at daycare this week. When I walked in, the therapist was holding Caleb’s hands while he stood in front of her and she asked me, “how long has he been walking?” “Huh? What are you talking about?” She explained that Caleb had been taking lots of steps with her assistance. When he finally did it again, I was floored. Sure enough, he was putting one foot in front of the other. Because his muscles are so tight, his legs tend to “scissor”, which basically means his legs cross in front of each other, kind of like a model down the runway. I had no idea Caleb could do that. It’s like his legs just knew what to do! The first thing I thought about was Shane… all the way in Russia and no ability to watch the video I took of Caleb’s surprise feat. I published the video to YouTube and once he had internet access, Shane got to see it. We’re both so full of pride for our little dude and we now have a huge new goal to work toward.

Check out the video here.

So aside from Caleb’s major breakthrough, this week has been relatively normal. The boys have been behaving really well and I got the biggest kick out of watching them play together the other night. They were laughing and squealing, I thought my heart was going to burst. Also, my little toughie Wyatt is turning into quite the good little boy. He “helps” me by bringing me Caleb’s shoes, he puts dirty clothes in the hamper and stops everything to give us hugs whenever we ask. At daycare, I was told Wyatt picked up another baby’s pacifier when it fell on the floor and brought it over to give back to him. So cute. Our daycare provider is weeks away from having a baby and she told us that Wyatt loves to hug her big belly. Almost makes me want to be pregnant again…. Emphasis on almost.

20121130-101421.jpg

20121130-101515.jpg

Anyways, that’s all I have time for for now. Have a great weekend, everyone!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “Bring it on!
  1. Hi, I just found your blog today via Love that Max’s link party (which I love!). Congratulations on Caleb’s walking for you! The video you posted is adorable. He looks so proud (and so sweet!).

  2. Sharon says:

    You must be over the top w/ the progress Caleb’s making..They are both so sweet & you’re doing such a great job w/ them.

  3. Megan says:

    HUGE congrats on the awesome walking news. I am rooting for Caleb all the way. As I watch Henry grow I am appreciating more and more how exciting and emotional those milestones are, whether they be in Holland or Italy.

  4. Thank you for sharing! I love hearing success stories! So many families don’t want their kids to have braces that as a PT its nice to hear a family share the good side of AFO’s!

  5. Way to go Caleb! (We love seeing stuff like this.)

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

