I’m Still Here!

Oh man… I can’t even remember the last time I’ve had the time/energy/internet access to sit down and write a new post! It’s been a hell of a couple of weeks. This time of year is naturally quite busy, but it seems Caleb’s therapy is really cranking up and we’re preparing to introduce occupational therapy and aquatic therapy twice a month, not to mention private physical therapy 2x/month in addition to our weekly physical therapy provided by the county. Did you follow all that? Yeah I barely can keep it straight and I’m notoriously bad at keeping a planner, so my iPhone’s calendar application is my saving grace right now.

The big news of the last couple weeks is that Caleb is crawling! He’s officially mobile! It’s really incredible to watch him zero in on a toy across the room and work really hard to get there. His distances keep getting longer and he’s able to for a greater amount of time before flopping to his belly from sheer exhaustion. He sometimes gets frustrated and that’s our cue that he needs to take a break but we’ve just been so impressed with his dedication. This was no miracle, folks. This is the result of Caleb’s hard work for the last six months and we’re just so very proud of him. The night that he first crawled Shane and I popped a bottle of wine to celebrate and toasted to this huge milestone. We just couldn’t be more proud of our little guy. I posted the video on my Facebook page, but it’s also on YouTube.

Watch Caleb crawl!

Caleb also had his latest follow-up with his developmental pediatrician. Not really anything new to report other than more discussion of whether Baclofen or Botox would be right to help relieve Caleb of his tightness. Shane and I are hesitant to medicate when Caleb is making tremendous progress without it, but we know that his muscles are starting to feel tighter and it’s getting more difficult to do some of the stretches that used to be quite easy a few months ago. The doctor said he would support us in whatever we decide and that our case is unusual because we have multiple options, where as if Caleb’s cerebral palsy were much  more severe, he would be strongly suggesting meds immediately. I guess multiple routes of treatment is a good problem to have.

On the way home from Baltimore that day, we were stuck in rush hour traffic and desperately trying to pick up Wyatt by 6:00, which is when the daycare closes and they enforce a $1/minute late fee. We were finally on the last stretch of our trip when our car (our practically new car with less than 15,000 miles) broke down. It felt like we’d blown a tire and after inspection, the tires were totally fine. Shane tried to drive it and it kept making a crazy clunking noise, but eventually went away and was driving fine once again. The smell of burnt rubber filled our vehicle but we managed to pick up Wyatt (30 minutes late = $30) and made it home safely. We brought the car to the dealership and after the installation of a brand new differential (ours failed, apparently) and a car wash/vacuum, we were back in business within two days. I’m very thankful for our warranty and the loaner vehicle they provided so we could still get our kids to daycare and ourselves to work. Doesn’t it just seem like car problems seem to arise and the LEAST convenient time? Although, I’m not sure there’s ever a convenient time for your car to break down.

We’ve also been dealing with a week-long fight with Comcast for our phone/internet/cable. There was some billing issues, which were resolved and then I was able to get our rate lowered by complaining about their terrible customer service and not 3 days later our internet and phone were out. We discovered the problem on Saturday morning and of course they were only able to get someone out to fix it this morning, which is why I’m now able to sit and blog! All in all, we’ve been really disappointed in Comcast for a while now and have always threatened to leave, but now is probably the time. We signed up for Verizon Fios and are praying that we have some better luck.

Let’s not forget that the boys have been sick for what seems like eternity but I guess it’s just that time of year, coupled by the fact that they attend daycare and are constantly swapping germs with other kids. Caleb was on antibiotics for a sinus infection and seemingly feeling much better until Friday, when I picked him up and he was feverish. He felt much better after some Tylenol, but lo and behold, woke up on Saturday morning with a fever of 104.1. Poor baby. He had no energy and just looked so pathetic. So back to the doctor we went and they were really concerned that he had such a high fever despite being on antibiotics and were afraid it was pneumonia, but luckily it was only an ear infection. Armed with a stronger Rx of antibiotics, we were sent on our way. Caleb and I stayed home on Saturday morning while Wyatt and Shane went to Silver Spring to see the Thanksgiving Parade. It’s a bummer that we all couldn’t go… next year, I guess.  Later that day, I took my date Wyatt to a Thanksgiving dinner at our friend’s house and we had a great time. There were a bunch of kids there and after about 40 minutes of clinging to my leg, Wyatt made himself right at home. The food was fantastic and we brought back lots for Shane and Caleb. Thanksgiving in our house is going to be a little unconventional this year since it’s my turn to work the holiday. I’m hoping to have a Thanksgiving lunch with my family before heading to work for the night. Kind of a bummer, but I’m looking forward to having a nice long Christmas holiday in Colorado.

Yesterday, we ended up doing something I swore I would never do… we got our Christmas tree! Yes, it’s before Thanksgiving, but Shane leaves for Russia this weekend and will be gone for 2 weeks. We wanted to have time to enjoy our tree and Christmas decorations at home before we leave. Unlike in years past where we go to the farm and cut down our own tree, we chose our tree from a lot at Home Depot. Not exactly photo-worthy but the tree looks great and unlike last year, hasn’t fallen down once…. *knocking on wood*.

Phew, so I think that about covers it! I have a zillion and one things to do before Thanksgiving, so I’d better hop to it!

PS: Here’s a few random pics from my phone that I took recently:

I would say that the boys were due for haircuts.

 

Much better!!

 

Wyatt had an accident at daycare and his spare clothes were way too small!

 

Another new trick for Caleb… he can put his foot in his mouth! HA!

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “I’m Still Here!
  1. Pat Berman says:

    So wonderful to see Caleb’s progress…happy day!

  2. Diane Pelletier says:

    That is such wonderful news and so great that Caleb is showing such progress. It’s all thanks to the hard work and perseverance. Both Wyatt and Caleb handsome and active little boys. Enjoy Thanksgiving and your relaxing time at Christmas. What am I saying…. you have twins and you work full time…. no such thing as relax! lol

  3. SueLynn says:

    It’s great to hear about Caleb crawling! What wonderful news! And Wyatt looks like he is growing so much! You are a busy momma! Let me know if you want to get together while Shane is away.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

