Random-ness

Random post alert!

Can I just say THANK GOD it’s almost Friday. This week has been exhausting, the relentless media regarding the election has made me so furious/frustrated one moment, yet proud/happy the next. Just glad it’s all over! Moving on…

Also, our boys have been sick with colds since… well, they’ve had some type of sickness symptom since we came back from Colorado in early October… so yeah, a while. I cringe every time I go in their rooms in the morning not sure what I’ll find. It’s always a surprise, I’ll leave it at that so as not to gross out anyone. We’re experienced enough to not run to the doctors for every sniffle but I wish the boys were more receptive to things that would make them feel better. Letting it run it’s course is frustratingly (word?) long since I’m convinced they’re actually just passing the cold back and fourth to each other in their nursery at night. Looks like Caleb will be home with me tomorrow and fingers crossed Wyatt will be well enough to head to day care. Not gonna lie, taking care of one toddler is a treat since I’m used to two.

I’ve been delving into Pinterest more and more these days. It’s funny how I complain that there aren’t enough hours in the day, yet I manage to burn through an hour looking for Thanksgiving crafts for toddlers. Yes, seriously. Someone said that Pinterest is the ultimate window shopping, which it totally is, and all the gorgeous photography makes me want to remodel my house, do a juice cleanse, freeze 924 Crock-Pot meals and take pictures of my painted Chevron nails with the latest polish color from Essie. All of which, I don’t have time for… so a complete wasted effort all around. I will say that I made three delicious meals this week from my trusty Pinterest board.

Pioneer Woman’s Meatloaf – This meatloaf was fantastic and very easy. I omitted the bacon, and used whole grain bread instead of white since that’s what I had on hand. I also left out the parsley, but I think it would’ve really added to the dish. It was so moist and filling! I made it with mashed cauliflower and butternut squash on the side. Yum!

Baked Pesto Chicken – This recipe was truly dummy proof! Only 3 ingredients! You have to really love pesto though, which I do. It’s probably not the healthiest what with the cheese and oil but I LOVED it. I think this chicken might move me to write a love letter of my own! I had a sweet potato on the side but I’m sure crusty french bread would be amazing to soak up all that yummy sauce!

Spinach, Mushroom & Feta Crustless Quiche – Hmm, I thought a crustless quiche was a frittata, no? Anyhoo… I love all the components of this dish so I figured it would be a slam dunk and it was very good, but it was much more spinach-y that I thought it would be. The eggs were barely detectable, so if I were to make it again, I’d probably add a couple more eggs and less spinach.

We were very much spared from SuperStorm Sandy, but we did get water in our basement that left a nasty, dingy spot near the basement door. I had a coupon for a big steam carpet cleaner rental from the grocery store so on Tuesday I hauled that huge thing to our house and it took me FOREVER to do our basement. I had big dreams of doing each room in the house, but I was so exhausted after doing the basement, I figured that was enough. Honestly, I was a little underwhelmed. The stains came out but our carpet wasn’t as white as I was envisioning. We desperately need a new carpet, but there’s no point until the kids are a little older. I’m formally apologizing for the appearance of our basement carpet for any future visitors. How does the saying go? Messy house, good mom or something. If that’s true, I’m the freaken’ Mom of the Year.

Okay, lastly, I have to bring your attention to something that I feel is truly incredible. I’ve been a reader of a blog called Momastery for a few months now. The writer is a mom, who has had addiction and eating disorder problems in the past that she still deals with. She’s created this online community of people (nicknamed Monkees) who are looking for inspiration and genuinely lifting each other up in support. It’s an amazing movement.

Just today, this community launched the Holiday Hands. It’s just a huge message board where people who are in need ask for help and people who are in a position to help respond directly to that person. Some are small requests like money to put a nice Thanksgiving meal on the table and other requests are larger like an iPad for children with special needs who could use an app to communicate with others.

I’ve been reading the requests all day and although we don’t have a ton of expendable income after daycare and doctors bills, I’ve had a $25 Gymboree gift card lying around for a while and I read the plea of a single mom who is looking for winter clothes for her 3-month old baby. I instinctively said, why not? and responded to her and will send that gift card  so her daughter can buy some warm clothes. I must say, even helping a little feels so good. I encourage everyone to read the pleas of our neighbors and see if you can find it in your heart to help. Even if it’s something small, or group together with friends and family and make a real difference in someone’s life. I have just been so inspired by people helping total strangers and it truly feels good to help, so I encourage you to do the same.

Holiday Hands Listing Page

I think Glennon (the blog author) said it best when she said, “The concept of Holiday Hands is simple. It is this: This holiday, I would rather my kids have three presents and your kids have three presents than my kids have six presents and yours have none.”

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Random
One comment on “Random-ness
  1. Bron says:

    I love that idea of giving x brilliant
    Great to catch up on your random news too 🙂

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

