What Gives Me Life {A Writing Prompt}

I’m very fortunate to have so many things that give me life… my mental and physical health, the love and support of numerous family and friends, an amazing partner in my husband and a rewarding career in which I help to make my community a safer place. But if you asked most parents, they would probably say that what gives them life is their children, and I’m certainly no different. I think the triumphs that Caleb has had to overcome since his cerebral palsy diagnosis truly give me life. Add to that Wyatt’s playfulness, curiosity and bottomless supply of energy and I truly am content… tired, but content.

Luckily, I’ve captured a few moments that really emulate the theme of this week’s post:

 

As we prepped for Hurricane Sandy, Shane and I were frequently standing at the window, taking note of the wind changes and watching the rain come down. I think Wyatt wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I love this picture because even though Wyatt is a super cool dude, he often times gets his shirt tucked into his diaper.

 

This walker has turned into a makeshift stander for Caleb. He loves to press the buttons and will stay standing until his legs literally give out and he’s slowly collapsed into a puddle of cuteness on the carpet. I also love that Shane is in the background on his phone, which we’re both prone to do periodically to break up the constant play time but he doesn’t need a break badly enough to warrant actually leaving the room for fear of missing out on the fun with his boys.

 

Here’s Wyatt pushing Caleb around our room in his little car. The funny thing about this car is that the operator has to steer it and Caleb usually neglects to do so (he’s more focused on the honking). Inevitably, this happened…

Caleb gets stuck in my clothes and Wyatt totally abandons him. Can I just say that Caleb thought this was hilarious! He must have thought he was going through a car wash or something. I actually laugh every time I see this picture!

I think my very favorite series of pictures has to be these from this weekend. Caleb has now mastered standing from being seated at this step stool. Once he finally stands up, he has this super proud look on his face and will happily stand there as long as his legs allow him to. Every time I watch him I feel like the Grinch when his heart grows three sizes.

Knowing that Caleb and Wyatt have fun, laugh and play all day long gives me life. Knowing that they are safe and well taken care of all day long gives me life. Knowing that we have many exciting years ahead of us gives me life.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “What Gives Me Life {A Writing Prompt}
  1. Jen says:

    The boys are so cute Ali. They are getting so big! You guys are such great parents!!

  2. Kerry says:

    This post totally made my night!! Caleb and Wyatt are SO cute and Caleb is doing amazingly well!

  3. Elaine says:

    You honestly should write a book Ali (in your spare time!). You write beautifully and reading about your experience with the boys is truly inspirational.

  4. Alison says:

    They look like they’re having so much fun together!

  5. Deb Lavoie says:

    Alison I just love your updates. You are always so positive and bright 🙂 Your boys are amazing and the pictures you post are so great!!

  6. Missy says:

    Gorgeous pic of Caleb in his walker/stander! I think one of the things that got me through our daughters initial diagnosis was that she had her best friend-sister right there beside her, helping her get into mischief!!!

    It does certainly give you life knowing of the many years of fun and excitement ahead!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,463
Recent Posts
