Out Of The {Hand, Foot,} Mouth of Babes

Ugh. So the boys are on day 4 of being out of daycare. They’re still getting over their Hand, Foot, Mouth disease which they were nice enough to share with every single other kid at the daycare. I’m so proud.

On one hand, it’s nice to spend the extra time with them all week, but on the other hand, Shane and I have been using sick leave and we still have to pay for daycare even if the kids don’t attend, so I just feel like we’re flushing $100’s down the toilet.

Now I realize why we’re so exhausted come Monday morning… taking care of these two guys all day long is rough! Especially when it’s 2 on 1. Wyatt is a little more independent, which helps, but he still hasn’t mastered stairs and he doesn’t always walk that great on uneven surfaces so sometimes it’s just easier/faster to carry him… along with Caleb. Since I was with the boys for the majority of the day, I felt like documenting the adventures of unplanned day at home with toddler twins. It’s riveting, let me tell you.

4:45 – My day started so ridiculously early. Wyatt was standing in his crib crying and rather than lay him back down and walk out, I decided to rock him back to sleep in the glider. What a terrible idea. He was goofing off and squirming off my lap so I finally brought him in our room and tried to have him lay down next to me but that didn’t work either. We played a little, watched cartoons, drank some milk and finally Caleb woke up and joined the party.

the bluriness is due to the hyperactivity at dark:30

Ready to party

7:15 – Caleb wakes up and after a diaper change we all head down to the kitchen for breakfast

Caleb needs his beauty sleep

7:40 – Breakfast is over and we move to the basement to play while I chug some coffee.

They devoured all three scrambled eggs.

Play time and some much needed coffee for me

8:15 – Wyatt is exhausted and I put him down for a nap.

8:35 – Miraculously, Caleb also goes down for a nap and I frantically run around cleaning my room, make the bed, stand under the hot water of the shower for a long time, get dressed, clean up the kitchen from breakfast and finally sit on the couch and eat, plus drink (another) coffee and watch the Today Show.

PB & Banana… breakfast of champions

9:30 – Both boys are awake from their naps, so they get changed, dressed, brush teeth, put on shoes and I spend 15 minutes looking all over the house for one of the fleece vests. I never found it. As I’m running around putting stuff in the diaper bag, the boys are starting to get fussy so I scoop them up and head for the car.

Why are you taking pictures of us all day. This is weird.

10:05 – Boys are loaded into the car and I realize I don’t know where I’m going, but I know I gotta get out of the house!

Tell us we’re not going to Costco again!

10:20 – Arrive at the mall, (are you even a little surprised?) window shop a little bit and pick up a few things for my Halloween costume (yes, I’m dressing up this year!)

My only purchase of the day. Can you guess what I’m going to be for Halloween?

11:00 – Stop at Starbucks for a snack, the boys get milk and we share a tray of cheese, grapes, apples and a piece of multigrain bread. Afterwards, I let Wyatt loose in the Germ Kid-Zone and he has a ball. He keeps copying what the big kids do and ends up falling down (a lot) but he’s tough and continues to play until I scoop him up to leave and he tries to give me a round-house kick to the shin. Feisty. (I realize bringing them to a public play space might not have been the best idea but I maintain that they are no longer contagious, based on the information we received from our doctor on Monday.)

Snack at the mall!

Best day ever

12:10 – Back at home and eating lunch. Their appetite isn’t great but they had a pretty decent snack, so I’ll let it go. You pick your battles, you know?

Fruit/veggie pouches = greatest invention ever

12:45 – Fresh diapers and down for a nap since their morning nap was pretty early. No complaints from the boys. I rush around to clean the kitchen from lunch, eat some leftovers and write the first half of this blog.  I peruse lots of articles on the World Wide Web and wait by the baby monitor.

Nap time!

Blissfully quiet

2:30 – Two awake and super happy kiddos… new diapers all around and we head back downstairs for some milk and play time. Wyatt was in a mood where he had to follow me where ever I went, and if I dared leave the room, he’d fuss and cry until I returned. Sigh, Wyatt.

3:45 – Pack up the boys back into the car to go meet Dad at the Metro station. As soon as I told them we were going to see Shane, they babbled some variation of “daddy” the entire way there. Pretty excited to see their dad after a long day.

4:15 – Shane and the boys are reunited and I head to work, where I’ll work hard all night long try not to get caught sleeping at my desk. I’m fortunate to be able to make up the hours I missed earlier and not have to take another sick day!

*IN THE FUTURE*

11:00pm – I’m back home and finally hitting the pillow after the longest day ever… seriously was breakfast only this morning and not yesterday???

So there you have it. Captivating, wasn’t it? Fingers crossed the daycare decided the boys no longer need to be quarantined tomorrow!!!

Stats:

Days out of daycare: 4 (Wyatt) 3 (Caleb)

Cups of coffee today: 3

Diaper changes: 9 as of 4:15

Hugs stolen: 242

Times Caleb called me “Nanny” today – 583

PS – Who’s Nanny?

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Day in the Life, Hand Foot Mouth, Toddler Drama
2 comments on “Out Of The {Hand, Foot,} Mouth of Babes
  1. Sharon says:

    Alison I have to say you’re one very special young woman..I so enjoy reading your blogs, your boys are so cute. You certainly have your hands full but doing a great job..You’re a very special Mom to those 2 boys how lucky they are to have you & Shane as parents…I pray for you that you continue to have the energy to keep up with them…You take care!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

