Monday Blahs

You know those weekends where you need another weekend come Monday because you’re so wiped out? Well, I’ve had one of those. It was a long weekend for me actually, since I took Friday off. Our good friends were married on Friday night in Kennett Square, PA. The ceremony was beautiful and we had an awesome time at the reception just eating, drinking and dancing! The bride and groom did a great job personalizing the whole event and their toasts to each other were so very sweet.

We attended the wedding with our friend Michelle and since her parents don’t live too far from where the wedding was being held, we were able to spend the night at their place. Not only that, but her dad was nice enough to be our chauffeur for the evening. Oh and did I mention that her parents babysat the boys while we had a fun night out? We got periodic pictures documenting their night with the boys and that really put me at ease. To say that we are grateful is quite the understatement.

Who needs toys when there are plastic measuring cups?!?

Of course,  after a late night (ahem, and too much pinot grigio) our boys decided to reward us with a 5:45 wake up. Just brutal. We packed up our stuff and hit the road to our next destination: Westport, CT.

Absolutely PACKED car for 2 nights away!

A few months back, some of my college girlfriends and I were lamenting about the fact that we weren’t going to see each other at a wedding this summer. Since a few of us are here in the DC area but a majority are in southern Maine, we decided to meet in the middle and found a house for rent. I was pretty impressed with the pictures of the place and the sitting areas both indoors and out seemed like the perfect place to chat and catch up with my friends. I’ll start with the positives… the house itself was spacious and clean. The bathrooms were nice. The decor was… quirky. The stripper pole provided amusement. The whaaa?!?!?!!? Yes. There was a stripper pole in the master bedroom right next to the bed. I can’t believe I didn’t get a picture! The place looked run down, like it hadn’t been really taken care of since the website pictures were taken. I was surprised that there was food in the fridge and clothes in the closets. I guess that’s what you get when you rent a house? The big beautiful pool was freezing and the furniture surrounding the pool all desperately needed a power wash. Actually, the whole exterior of the house needed a power wash.  I’ve assembled a collage of some of the “unique” decor. Not exactly “Hollywood Glam” like the listing described.

Doesn’t everyone have a huge blue Hindu candles decorating their home?

Erin in the creepy secret attic that overlooks the living room.

The place was a bit of a disappointment but it allowed us to get together and catch up. The great thing about close friends is that no matter how long it’s been since you’ve seen each other, you can always pick up right where you left off. For a brief while I was transported back to our suite’s common room and it was 2006 again. We gossiped, shared personal stories and had lots of laughs. I just wish I wouldn’t have been so tired/hungover, I wish my fussy kids weren’t on a nap strike and I just wish we would’ve had more time. I had been looking forward to this weekend for so long and I’m pretty bummed that I just crossed off the those boxes on my desk calendar.

Thanks for the mems, ladies! Love you!

We may or may not have modeled the owner’s extensive collection of prescription sunglasses!

PS: A special thanks also goes out to Shane for doing 100% of the driving this weekend despite the hangover, crying kids and passed-0ut wife in the passenger seat.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Silliness, Travel

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
