What’s the matter, Wyatt?

I’d like to think that Shane and I have a good grasp on this whole parenting thing. <— (something tells me I’ll laugh at that statement someday) The boys have a good routine, they’ve been sleeping through the night for a while now, for the most part they eat well and play nicely. Well, last night I felt like I was transported back to those early newborn days of babies crying and not knowing how to make it stop.

When I picked up the boys from daycare yesterday, the teachers informed me that Wyatt was “not himself” all day. This was the same report we’d received on Monday as well. On Monday night he was a little fussy, so I just chalked it up to being tired (and maybe sore) from his marathon play session at Celebrate Gaithersburg. I also noticed that his top left canine tooth has just broken through and he probably had some teething pain. On a side note, I checked Caleb’s mouth and the same tooth has just broken the surface. With the exception of one or two all of the boys teeth have come in at almost exactly the same time and in the same order… isn’t that weird?

I was surprised that he was still “off” on Tuesday and last night was one of the more challenging nights we’ve had in a while. It’s like his mood was so fragile. We’d try to play his favorite games and he’d break down fussing and crying. Never actually shedding one tear, mind you, just whining. It was sort of comical to watch him be entertained for maybe 15 seconds, then dramatically fling himself to the ground, bang his head on the floor, roll over, kick his legs, roll over, stand up and start playing with something else only to repeat the process every minute or so. I’ve never really seen him act like that.

happy, sad, happy, sad…. rinse, repeat all night long

Shane and I were racking our brains. Maybe he was thirsty? Well judging by the fact that the sippy cup of water ended up on the floor within minutes, I’d say that wasn’t the issue. We figured his tooth was bothering him, so we gave him some Tylenol and that didn’t help one bit, either. After attempting more play and a fresh diaper we were out of ideas.

We decided to crank up the bedtime routine 30 minutes early, figuring that he was just over tired or something. The beginning of dinner was brutal… it was actually raining butternut squash and cod at one point in my kitchen. Wyatt wouldn’t eat and would clench his jaw shut so we couldn’t feed him. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted a cocktail so badly in my life. We resorted to an old staple, baby oatmeal. I mixed up a bowl, Wyatt sat on Shane’s lap and actually ate the whole thing. His mood started to improve once he ate a little more. I rewarded him with Teddy Grahams (yes, I’m a sucker) and once finished he was back to regular old Wyatt. We had a great bath and story time and it was lights out at 7. So my guess is that he didn’t get enough to eat for lunch yesterday and was pretty hungry once dinner rolled around. If he would’ve only been able to verbalize what was going on, Shane and I wouldn’t have played the guessing game all night. Poor kiddo. Fingers crossed he’s back to normal today!

Oh and what was Caleb up to all this time? Well, he was just his regular happy-go-lucky self. He just went with the flow and Wyatt’s crying didn’t seem to bother him one bit.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Toddler Drama, Wyatt
One comment on “What’s the matter, Wyatt?
  1. Louise Nadeau Beaulieu says:

    I love reading your escapades….you WILL all survive…your fantastic fun-loving attitude will pull you through…poor baby….he was hungry….my 2 1/2 year old grandchild is now able to tell us he is hungry, tired, wet, etc….so much easier to take care of him….have a great end of the week…

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,520
Recent Posts
