This & That

Random post alert!!!

I’ve been sick for the past week! I finally took a sick day on Thursday and was feeling much better yesterday but woke up this morning with my familiar sore throat. My treatment methods have been half-assed admittedly… a little orange juice for breakfast, some generic Dayquil here and there, a little bit of rest on my sick day when the boys were at daycare. I have a really hard time just resting and relaxing when I have the rare opportunity of being home alone. I was contemplating exercise (although I had NO problem talking myself out of that one), cleaning up, doing laundry, etc. Not to mention it was a beautiful sunny day outside so it felt like I had no business being in bed at 3pm. I managed to get some pork carnitas in the crock pot, so my rest day wasn’t totally unproductive.

Caleb had an assessment with an occupational therapist this week. She was really impressed with his dexterity in his hands. He was using one finger to spin the wheels on his cars and picking up puzzle pieces by the knob. She felt confident enough in his abilities to predict that he won’t have significant limitations in his fine motor skills when he’s older! She said we might notice some more tightness when he goes through growth spurts and adjusts to bone/muscle growth. She’s going to follow up in a month, but at this point doesn’t feel like he needs weekly occupational therapy. She gave us lots of activities to try to promote fine motor skills like playing with cookie dough (smushing it, poking it, pushing shapes into it…) and trying to play with jumbo crayons or chalk. Like the cookie addict dedicated mom I am, I bought a huge tub of Tollhouse  cookie dough to “help” Caleb with his therapy. My only hope is there’ll be dough left by the time we actually sit down and let them play with it!

We also killed some time at Target today and found some great jumbo Crayolas for the boys to play with. I sat them in their chairs at the kitchen table and taped some plain paper. Caleb immediately tried to eat his, no matter what I did. I finally decided that if he got a little taste, he’d realize it wasn’t food and stop trying to eat it. I was wrong. Five minutes later, Shane was brushing black crayon out from behind Caleb’s front teeth. Oops. #mommyfail.  Wyatt was actually doing pretty good and coloring his page with the bottom of his crayon so I figured I’d snap a pic to remember his first masterpiece.

Pretty much a Picasso right there

Not 30 seconds after the first picture, he decided to do this:

….and we’re done.

Sooooo…. needless to say, their first creative crayon time didn’t go great, necessarily. I have a feeling that we have plenty of coloring years ahead of us.

Yesterday, Shane worked from home and I was working evenings so after the boys went to daycare, Shane and I went to play tennis on his lunch break. We haven’t played tennis since before we moved, almost 2 years ago! We both forgot how much we loved it. We played the best of 5 sets and Shane won 3-2, but let me tell ya, it was close. This is probably… no the only… physical sport where I can keep up with Shane. We had a blast and tried to figure out how we can play more tennis together.

I’m sure we looked just like this… you know… except playing against each other.

Oh, and I got to try out my new favorite headband in the world. It’s called a Sweaty Band and I had heard that they really work in keeping your hair out of your face while exercise and they don’t move. I coughed up the $18 to get myself one and I must say, I was very skeptical since I’m convinced I have an oddly shaped head and the slipperiest (is that a word?) hair ever. But you guys…. this headband actually worked. I’ve ran with it and it hasn’t moved an inch and I used it during tennis and my hair stayed in place while serving up aces left and right. So my Sweaty Band is essentially my new favorite work-out thing.

My new favorite website, on the other hand, is called the CP Family Network. I love their blog, which highlights lots of inspiring stories about families with cerebral palsy as well as disability policy and legislation. One family that they highlighted actually had a short documentary film made about their situation. Their eldest daughter was born with severe cerebral palsy, but their middle and youngest daughter were born healthy. That was, until shortly after their youngest daughter’s birth were they told she would need a transfusion due to jaundice. The hospital made a terrible error and there was an air bubble in the intravenous line which caused the newborn to go into cardiac arrest for 40 minutes. This caused irreparable brain damage which caused severe cerebral palsy and this family will have to care for her forever. This documentary is really moving and really opens my eyes to just how severe cerebral palsy can be. It’s a touching story and I hope they receive significant financial compensation in order to assist them.

We look forward to getting together with friends tomorrow for  a BBQ but nothing too crazy since I’m the only person in the country that has to work on Monday! Surely that’s not true, but it just feels like it is! Happy long weekend!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “This & That
  1. Megan says:

    HUGELY awesome news about Caleb’s fine motor skills. 🙂

  2. Louise Nadeau Beaulieu says:

    I just love how upbeat you are….

  3. […] and get Caleb to work on his fine motor skills. You can read about our first endeavor with crayons here. Well, this afternoon we were hit with a severe thunderstorm and tornado warnings quite […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,348
Recent Posts
