First Haircuts

When Shane mentioned that the boys were probably due for their first haircut soon, I really resisted the idea. Their hair is one of the last true “baby” things about them and I knew they’d look much older with a real big boy haircut. But I realized that Wyatt’s rattail and Caleb’s toupée were maybe a little less than flattering. Not to mention their hair was starting to grow past their ears and would stick out from the strap of Caleb’s glasses.

Not a ton of hair, but covering the ears nonetheless

Business on the sides, party in the middle?

So we decided to load up the boys and head to our local “kid-themed” hell-hole hair salon. There were a lot of kids with their parents and it was quite chaotic, to say the least. I hadn’t had the foresight to think that maybe going on the day before the first day of school wasn’t the best idea. Miraculously, we didn’t have to wait very long and the hair dresser seemed nice enough.

Caleb was up first and was a little freaked about the spritz of water to smooth out his white-blonde fluff. I just kept trying to distract him with a toy and intervene when he tried to reach for the scissors. The hair stylist was incredibly quick and kept trying to point him towards watching Thomas the Train on a little TV next to the mirror. Caleb had no idea who this Thomas the Train character is and could not have cared less.  A few locks of his beautiful baby hair ended up in a little baggie attached to a My First Haircut certificate for mommy to cherish forever his baby book.

Not impressed with the blue capes.

I think I don’t like this… yep, I’m sure I don’t like this!

So blonde you can’t tell he even got a haircut!

In typical Wyatt fashion, he was very skeptical about getting his hair cut. I think he was afraid the hair dresser was going to make him look uncool or something. He was also very curious about the scissors but was possibly just making hairstyle suggestions. Another certificate was issued and Wyatt’s blonde locks were also saved in a baggie, although, he had much less of a sample for collection.

I am way too cool for this place.

Just a little off the top! Geez, lady!

Is this nonsense over now?

All in all, both boys did really well for their first haircuts. And I know first-hand because there were some other kids who were squirming and screaming bloody murder during their haircut. Yikes. It was $40 (!!!!!!!) well spent for another milestone. Now if you don’t mind, I’ll be looking up hair cutting videos on YouTube.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “First Haircuts
  1. Pat says:

    They look adorable!

  2. Tom Levesque says:

    Too cute Ali. They are getting big. 40 bucks though?? Hope all is well.

  3. Louise Nadeau Beaulieu says:

    I really enjoy reading your updates…you are so upbeat and funny….Your little boys are very handsome. My daughter in law Cherie has learned how to cut her 2 1/2 year old sons hair….she takes a clipper and goes to it….I think she does a fantastic job and saves a bunch of money…Keep on having such a positive fun outlook on everyday life and you will float through all kinds of issues with a beautiful smile on your face….Just imagine, when Elizabeth was born, she practically had a zero chance of survival….she started college yesterday and is living on campus…you will survive…have a fantastic week…I look forward to more of your stories….

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

