Another Wonderful Visit

Yikes. It’s been a while since I’ve posted. I’m still learning where this blog fits into my daily life and how to set aside enough time to dedicate to it. I never want it to feel like a chore, which is why I don’t post daily, but sometimes my hectic schedule doesn’t allow for me to sit down and actually write. I wish blogging didn’t have to come at the expense of something else… like sleep, eating dinner or exercising. But this blog is as much for me as it is for others, and I like being able transcribe my feelings to a page… er… screen. Maybe this admission of laziness on my part will motivate me to make writing more routine rather than an afterthought.

Anyways, we were quite the busy bodies again this past weekend.  Shane’s parents traveled from Colorado to see the boys. Now that Caleb and Wyatt are a little older, we can enjoy a little more of what the area has to offer! Our first excursion was to Glen Echo Park to ride on the famous Dentzel Carousel. We first learned of the carousel when we took the boys to a puppet show this winter at the adjoining Puppet Co. We made a mental note to be sure to return when it was open for the season. Coincidentally, we have the Maryland version of the Goodnight Our World book series, appropriately named Good Night Maryland. In it, it gives a shout out to the “famous Dentzel carousel at Glen Echo Park.” Needless to say, we’ve been pretty excited to take the boys to one of the places in their beloved book.

From their website: “Installed at Glen Echo Park in 1921, the canopy and the carved figures were made by the Dentzel Carousel Company of Germantown, Pennsylvania. It is a classic example of hand woodcarving popular during the early 1900s.” The carousel was restored in 2003 and it looks fantastic. The colors and lights are vibrant and it’s fun to point out the sole lion and ostrich along with the various types of horses. The boys were absolutely mesmerized watching the carousel spin round and round from their spot in line.

When it was our turn, we snagged two horses side by side and these happened to be ones that moved up and down (not all did). The carousel spun faster than I anticipated and I found myself seeking a fixed spot so as not to get queasy. I’m a total wimp when it comes to rides. Caleb did not appear to be enjoying himself at first, but toward the end of the ride he began to have some fun. Wyatt on the other hand had fun but was very cautious and didn’t move his hands one inch from the pole. It was difficult to get pictures when you’re spinning in a circle and the horses are moving up and down. It makes me dizzy just thinking about it.

 

While the carousel was the highlight of the trip to the park, we also enjoyed a picnic lunch under the shady trees and some playtime on the baby swings. This was one of the top parks on my long “Want-to-Visit” list so I’m glad we were able to get there this summer.

The following day, we headed north to Frederick and walked around the scenic downtown area. There’s tons of cute shops and restaurants with outdoor seating. We stopped at an Irish pub to feed the boys and grab a beer (although I was on call for work all weekend, so no booze for me… lame).

 

 

We then ventured to another restaurant to have the complete Maryland crab experience. Maryland is known for it’s blue crab that are steamed and served by the tray-full on a paper covered picnic table. Don’t get me wrong… I love crab (-dip, -cakes, -balls, -puffs, yes I’m still talking about crabs) but eating steamed crabs is a LOT of work. You spend the whole meal hammering away and picking out small pieces of sweet, juicy crabmeat. Anyone who knows anything about me knows that I LOVE me some lobster (lobstah for my Mainiacs… woot woot). Maybe pulling 4-5 ounces of succulent lobster tail (actively drooling on my keyboard) out of it’s shell has caused me to be a bit spoiled. Needless to say this didn’t stop Shane and his parents from enjoying our Maryland delicacy. I had the seafood platter, which is also known as Deep Fried Awesomeness. I must have missed the salad options on the menu somehow, hmm, weird. The boys were way past due on a nap so they weren’t on their best behavior necessarily but luckily we were seated outside and no one seemed to mind.

Shane and I had to work the following day but the boys were undoubtedly spoiled by their Mima and Boppie. Beth noticed a huge improvement in Caleb since she saw him in early June so that was very encouraging. I’ll be drafting a more detailed post of his progress as we zero in on the 4-month mark since his Cerebral Palsy diagnosis. I’d like to say thanks again to Mike and Beth for traveling our way to spend time with us. The boys absolutely adore you and your advice and support is always so encouraging. Thanks!

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Another Wonderful Visit
  1. Paul says:

    Looks like a great time. !!!! I could almost hear Mike laughing when I saw the pic of him with Caleb. Funny!

  2. The carousel was featured in the Washington Post Magazine this past Sunday! Looks classic and fun. Very cool that you got to go take the boys for a ride. 🙂

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
