Where’s Wyatt?

I feel like it’s been a while since I posted about my little Wy-Guy. Wyatt has been growing and developing so quickly. He’s mastered cruising a while ago and has officially taken his first wobbly steps but refuses to do so while being documented, thus no pictures or videos yet unfortunately.

Having a son with special needs really makes you appreciate the abilities of typically developing children. It’s amazing that they figure out just how their body works and they become stronger, more flexible and more stable each week.

Wyatt has great coordination and balance. He’s so quick to get from point A to B and rather than a traditional crawl, he sticks one leg out to the side, so it’s like a sort of walk/crawl combo.

He spends a lot of time “organizing” which translates to taking every single toy out of his bins and putting them on the floor. One at a time. Luckily, he mimics us when we put the toys away so that helps. He loves anything on wheels and likes to growl like a lion all day long. So ferocious that one.

Like most toddlers, he loves anything that’s “off-limits”. As soon as I hide my phone, the remote, the laptop, or my cup of coffee it’s all he can think about and will often flop on the ground because he’s never wanted anything so bad in his whole life. Skype-ing with the grandparents is becoming challenging because he loves to bang on the keys and pretend he’s a computer programmer, you know, writing code and whatnot.

Oh, here’s your iPhone, mama.

He “brushes” his hair when given a comb and “talks” on his toy phones. These are the exact same action, mind you, but surely he knows the difference.

Hello? Hello? Can you hear me now?

This phone gets terrible reception

Wyatt has a really good appetite but we’ve learned to offer veggies first because once meat hits the plate  it’s all he can think about. Hmm, I wonder who he learned that from? I have the dicing skills of an executive chef because I have to keep up with a pretty fast eater. And like most kids, when he’s tired he rubs his eyes and hair with his sticky, greasy little paws and I come to the conclusion that we’re never going to be able to skip their nightly bath.

In addition to no more binkies, Wyatt is now bottle-free as well. He’s even shown interest in drinking from a regular cup (mind you, it was a cup full of dirty bath water, but whatever).

Gosh, we’re just slowly getting rid of all things “baby”. Each new transition is bittersweet, though. So cliché, but they really grow so fast. Luckily, he’s still a mini-replica of his dad and I’m sure will continue to crack us up with that goofy laugh of his for a long time to come.

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “Where’s Wyatt?
  1. Corrie Anne says:

    That is some really exciting progress! I love all the sweet pictures. So I totally don’t eat Paleo… I just borrow the recipes and combine them in. But you should try some. The paleOMG is a really good website, and there are some good cookbooks too. My husband likes it when I cook paleo because it’s more meat-based. Otherwise I don’t do a lot of meat. The key is just to not mention paleo and slowly work it in!! Haha!

  2. Megan says:

    God he looks JUST LIKE his daddy! So does my little guy, good thing we already have a preference for those good looks, huh?

  3. Diane Boucher says:

    wow,, splitting image of daddy !!!!!

  4. SueLynn says:

    Wow. . . No more binkies or bottles! What a monumental feat! I love the caption under the picture of Wyatt brushing his hair! 🙂

  5. JUlie Lewin says:

    I came across your post via Lovethatmax. I have identical twin boys, one with PVL, one not. The pix of your boys look exactly like the pix of my boys when they were younger (they are 3 now), down to the glasses (My son’s were the light gray ones) and the twin with PVL always sort of leaning into his brother. It’s almost surreal to look at your pix and see the similarities. It looks like your son is doing really well. If no one ever mentions it (no one mentioned it to me), try looking into SDR when your son turns 2.

    Julie Lewin, San Diego, CA

  6. Bron says:

    Both your boys are gorgeous! As amazing as typical development is I can’t imagine watching twins develop so differently when I sometimes have a hard time with comparing my kids who have a three year age gap! And I agree with your Paeds advice about balance of life and therapy and the fact that at 2 things become much clearer xxx

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,348
Recent Posts
