Dear Nike

A good friend shared a link to a website that describes one young boy’s plea to Nike to develop a sneaker to benefit those with disabilities. This young man, Matt Walzer, happens to have cerebral palsy and has a difficult time tying his shoes. He writes a letter on his own blog to the Nike CEO, Mark Parker. His points are valid and his letter is so eloquently written. Here’s an excerpt:

“I’ve worn Nike basketball shoes all my life. I can only wear this type of shoe because I need ankle support to walk. […] At 16 years old, I am able to completely dress myself, but my parents still have to tie my shoes. As a teenager who is striving to become totally self-sufficient, I find this extremely frustrating, and at times, embarrassing.”

And like so many inspiring stories in this social-media day and age, this one has become viral. The CEO of the shoe blog Nice Kicks, posted a video summarizing the plight of young Matt and came up with a way to get the Nike CEO to see his letter. For every retweet (for those of you on Twitter), Like and/or Share (on Facebook) of this link, Nice Kicks will send a brightly colored postcard to the Nike CEO with the original link to Matt’s letter, signed by you!

I really hope Mr. Parker sees this letter and is inspired to design a shoe to help those who struggle to tie their sneakers but need more support than a sandal or slip-on can provide. According to the CDC, cerebral palsy is the most common motor disability in childhood so I have to think there’s a market for these types of sneakers.  And I guess, selfishly, I hope that there’s a cool Nike sneaker that Caleb can wear someday if he ends up having difficulty tying his laces, like Matt.   I’m sure that the more opportunities Caleb has to lead a normal life, the better and it doesn’t get more normal for a teenager than to be able to rock a new pair of Nikes.

So please click this link, and at the top of the page, click the Tweet or Like button in order to support this cause!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “Dear Nike
  1. Corrie Anne says:

    That’s really cool!!!! Love that support.

  2. Holli says:

    This is really great. Just tweeted for the cause. Hope it becomes a reality! Found you via Multiples and More. Your boys are beautiful!

  3. […] I wrote about a teenager with cerebral palsy named Matt Walzer. He wrote a letter to the CEO of Nike, pleading […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,463
Recent Posts
