What Cerebral Palsy Cannot Do

My mom posted this quote on Facebook this morning:

 

These words couldn’t ring more true for me, especially today. This morning while we were playing in the (wait for it…) play room, Caleb had finished his stretches so I sat him on his little step to play with the activity table.

We’ve been trying to get Caleb to bear weight on his little legs so we practice transitioning from sitting to standing. The goal is to get him to remain flat-footed and not lock his knees. But like I said, we were done his stretches for the morning so we were all playing and I was actually giving Wyatt some attention when Caleb caught my eye. He reached his arms as far across the table as he could and just pushed himself into a standing position. Totally uncoerced and on his own.

 

I was fighting back tears because I was just so damn proud of that little boy. I mean, look at him! (apologies for the crappy cell phone pics lately) Caleb teaches me so much and he exceeds my expectations every day. Witnessing this feat reminded me of the line in the above mentioned quote: Cerebral Palsy cannot conquer the spirit.

 

You know what else CP can’t do? It can’t keep Caleb down… literally.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
13 comments on “What Cerebral Palsy Cannot Do
  1. Pat says:

    Hooray for Caleb!!!!
    Way to go!!!

    • Grandma Jeano (Lilys Grandma) says:

      Oh Ali, this is wonderful! He looks as happy as his Mom over his latest accomplishment! Can’t wait to see more.

  2. Amy says:

    AHH so happy for Caleb!!! I just got “FRISSONS”!!!!

  3. Patricia Ziegler says:

    Beth shared this awesome picture with me this am and I was in tears. CP can’t squelch anything Caleb dreams for himself. His beautiful spirit is so Very evident in the pictures and stories I so love to see and hear. You and Shane are doing a great job! CONGRATS TO MR. C on a job well done. Regards, Patricia

  4. Val says:

    So happy for you all. Brings tears to my eyes. Keep the faith!

  5. Bron says:

    Oh my goodness your boys are absolutely devine!!!! I am thrilled for Calebs newest milestone! That is huge!!!!! Great effort! I found you via Ellen and Max and I too have a son with cp xxx

  6. Corrie Anne says:

    Yay!!!!!!!!! Go Caleb. That’s so awesome!

  7. Din says:

    This is amazing! Go Caleb!

  8. Louise Nadeau Beaulieu says:

    Wow, this whole blog is fantastic…Allison, thanks for being so honest and so upbeat…You know that Elizabeth was also born with a birth injury. The 1st doctor we saw from Bangor said it was alright if she remained in a car seat for the rest of her life!!! I said, “no way”! Eighteen years later, Elizabeth has graduated high school….working Recreation Department part time and Shop and Save as a cashier. She plays volleyball, basketball, got her drivers license one handed, plays trumpet and swims….the list goes on…she has been accepted at NMCC for the nursing program…do not give up…go for the gold and your child will be fine!! Best wishes…keep on blogging…it helps to encourage other parents…Peace to you, my dear Allison!!!!

  9. kat9365 says:

    SOOOO happy to see this!!!!!!!!!! omg what a strong willed little man you have on your hands.

  10. SueLynn says:

    Yay! Way to go, Caleb!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
