Mommy-ventions

Dear Inventors,

Please develop the following products:

Pre-cut toddler sized foods. I’d like to buy healthy, soft, fruits, veggies, cheeses and meats that are pre-diced into itty-bitty pieces so I can have those precious minutes of my day back. These foods need to stay fresh so they don’t get super slimy and impossible for chubby fingers to grab.

Stylish velcro clothing for the whole family. Now that the boys use convertible car seats, they are carried in my arms to and from the car. Making two trips is time consuming and I keep getting paranoid that I’m going to forget one of the boys in the car. What a terrible feeling! Well what if the boys and I all wore cool velcro clothes so I could carry them, as well as my purse, daycare bag, etc. How sweet would that be?

Breast pump massage table.  Well, I have no use for this now, but I remember months back, while pumping, just wanting to lie down! Obviously, physics doesn’t allow for this but how cool would it be to have one of those massage tables, with holes cut out for your boobs! The pump would do all the work beneath the table while you caught a well-deserved nap.

Diaper Genie chute. I like having the diaper genie next to our changing table so the stink stays pretty well hidden, but then you make up for it with a week’s worth of stench when you change the bag! It’d be totally great if the diaper went in the pail and, through a series of intricate tubes, ended up in your trash can… in the garage.

Automatic floor sweeper. I can’t quite put my finger on the specific design, but it’d be great if you had a floor covered in food, then pressed a button and voila! A clean, sparkly floor! Maybe some sort of windshield wiper for your floors? Or like an air hockey table type floor but instead of blowing air through the holes it vacuums all the crumbs? I realize that there is already an automatic floor sweeper, but we’re not ready for a dog just yet.

Baby sensor alarm. While the boys were still little, I declared that the absolute worst way to wake up was to the sound of a crying baby on the monitor. It really is like the worst kind of alarm clock because you’re exhausted but have no time to get your bearings. I’d love to have a sensor that knows when the baby will wake up so the alarm gently sounds about 10 minutes before the baby cries. That way, I have time to put in my contacts, go to the bathroom, brush my teeth, maybe start the coffee pot and be ready to start the day on the right foot.

Book holder & page turner. With two grabby babies on my lap, I have to hold the books as far away as possible if we ever want to make it past page one. It’d be great to have a book holder that also turned the pages for you on command.

Hmm, that’s it for now. I assume I’ll have lots more idea once I’m in the midst of potty training twins. Any other mommy-ventions that I missed?

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Mommy-ventions
  1. Jenni K says:

    I found you on “Friday Favorites”!! lol, love the idea of velcro clothing 🙂 I have so often wished for more arms, but that would work, too 🙂

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

