Monday Blahs

20120709-220755.jpg

20120709-220953.jpg

It feels like the day after Christmas. I’ve got the my mommy and daddy are gone blues. Ha! My parents have been visiting us for the past two weeks and just returned home to Maine yesterday. As always, we enjoyed having them around so much. It’s amazing what a difference a couple pairs of hands make! My husband actually ate home cooked food for two weeks (thanks Mom!) and the boys are now able to enjoy their new swing set (thanks Dad and Shane!). It’s so nice to put the boys to bed and return to see the kitchen has been all cleaned up from dinner. Even better to realize that the laundry I throw down the chute finds its way back up to my room… cleaned and folded! A miracle, I tell ya! Probably the best part of their visit is seeing my parents bond with the boys. They spent hours on the floor playing with them, helping Caleb with his stretches, taking Wyatt outside to point out things in the yard and just generally being awesome grandparents. It’s funny to think that they made the same faces, played the same games and had the same nicknames for me and my brothers a few decades ago. The boys are so lucky to have a loving Memere and Pepere, that’s for sure.

The last few days of their visit were spent outside of Annapolis to attend my cousin’s wedding. It was also a family reunion of sorts for my mom’s side of the family. Her six brothers and sisters were all together for the first time since our wedding almost three years ago! It was a whirlwind weekend and aside from the triple-digit temperatures, everything was just perfect. Our hotel was right on the water and walking distance to a lively beach bar, which was the location of the welcome party on Friday night. Lots of beers and margaritas were consumed and our family was singing “Alouette” and various other songs within hours.

The next day we met up for a morning swim at the indoor pool and then ventured a few buildings down for some lunch with all the aunts and uncles. The boys managed to go the longest they’ve ever gone without a nap. It was pretty funny to see them trying so hard to fight off sleep. Having the babies in a hotel is really difficult. They’re not used to sleeping in their pack ‘n plays and the room doesn’t get very dark at all during nap time. Not to mention that my parents, Shane and I were also in the room, so sleeping was the last thing they wanted to do. Our dear friend Michelle stayed in our hotel room with the boys while we attended the wedding. Admittedly, I was very nervous that they would give her a hard time but Michelle is a rock star and got them fed, changed, and in bed at a decent hour.

The wedding itself was absolutely breathtaking. The ceremony was right on the water with the picturesque Bay Bridge in the background. The wedding party looked they were pulled from the cover of a bridal magazine. So preppy and chic! I just loved their coral and robin’s egg blue color scheme. The food was beyond fantastic and we were treated to mini sliders and fries at the end of the night. The band was crazy good and kept the dance floor packed the entire night! The bartenders even learned how to make a Skinny Goose cocktail for me. The best part of all was celebrating an incredibly sweet couple and being surrounded by lots of family. I was definitely bummed when the weekend came to an end and I had to say bye to everyone, especially my parents. We see each other pretty infrequently and don’t currently have anything on the books, so it’s hard to not have a visit to look forward to.

I am anxious to get back into our routine, however. I’ve been borderline exhausted for weeks now and I’m hoping to catch up on some much needed sleep. I’m also anxious to hit the pavement and start running (I really use this term very loosely) now that the humidity appears to have broken and the temps are back down into the 80s. Hopefully this weekend will involve lots of stroller rides and trips to the pool!

20120709-221042.jpg

Note: I apologize for the lack of pictures but I was a bit lazy about hauling my camera around this past few days.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Monday Blahs
  1. Corrie Anne says:

    My family is here right now, and I’m totally loving it too!! That wedding looks gorgeous!!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
