A Festive Fourth

I keep having to remind myself that this isn’t the boys’ first 4th of July but in a way it feels like it is. A year ago today, the boys were in the NICU and we weren’t exactly in any shape to celebrate. So this year, I made it a point to have a fun day with the boys and we were definitely successful!

I was planning on running a 5K this morning at 7 but I had to work very late last night and only got home in the wee hours of this morning. When I awoke from my coma at 8 (super sleeping in!), the race was ending. Oh well. There will be others. I’m just proud of myself for actually wanting to run at all! Does that count for anything?

Our little town (which I consider little, but in actuality is quite large at around 40,000 residents) held a parade this morning with a celebration afterwards. The parade was super cute and there were so many great participants: the scouts, local law enforcement, young ROTCs, the rival swim clubs, the community band and even a 101-year-old man riding his motorized scooter down the parade route. The streets were lined with families all decked out in red, white and blue.

 

After the parade we walked over to a small festival, also hosted by our town. There were bounce houses, carnival games and food vendors. There weren’t too many baby friendly activities and the temps were soaring to the upper 90s with lots of humidity so we headed back to our house for lunch and naps. Naps for everyone actually!

Desperate to cool off, we walked up to the pool a couple blocks from us. The water in the baby pool was comically warm, like bathwater. But the boys had tons of fun playing with all their various pool toys. The larger pool was the most crowded we had ever seen but we thankfully managed to snag some seats in the shade.

Once we’d had enough of the heat and returned home and the babies got to play on their new swingset for the first time! Shane and my dad have spent the last week assembling this huge swingset for Caleb & Wyatt. It was a birthday gift from Shane’s parents and ourselves. I see the boys enjoying that set for years to come. The fact that Shane and my dad put it together is just so special. They worked in the heat of the day for hours and hours and it was finally finished last night.

Before

Starting to come together

 

After! So proud of all their hard work!

Tonight, the boys took their inaugural ride in their new swings. They loved it! How lucky are these little boys?!?

I predict many hours on those swings!

What a fun and memorable holiday. Definitely one for the books. I’ve been enjoying this time with my parents so much and I’m just sad it’s starting to come to an end. Not before a fun family wedding this weekend in Annapolis, however. Happy 4th!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “A Festive Fourth
  1. Elise says:

    WOW!!! That swing set is AMAZING- nice job to the Daddy and Pepere (right? Memere and Pepere?) on a job well done!!! Those are two lucky and happy boys (the ones enjoying the set, not building it, I mean- though they look pretty happy too).

  2. kat9365 says:

    That swing set looks SOOOO COOL! I’m glad you guys had a good 4th – we actually skipped the parade because it was way too hot to hang out outside. I’m super jealous you have a pool to go to, although we did spend most of our weekend at the local beach so I guess that counts (I just don’t go in the ocean – too cold and too many things that can bite me, sting me, gross me out)

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

