Weekend Brain Dump

Let’s see here… stream of consciousness-style blog post… ready go!

I’ve had a pretty productive week. I measure my productivity by how clean my house is, but I’m slowly learning that it won’t be really clean until my kids are out of the house. After keeping up with the laundry, sweeping, and tidying the kitchen (SO. MANY. CHEERIOS.) I have little motivation to do much else, but I managed to scrub our bathroom clean and half-ass clean the other two bathrooms! Great success! Fun tip: I used a recipe I saw on Pinterest to clean the bathtub. You mix equal parts blue (I doubt it needs to be blue) Dawn dish detergent and white vinegar. Spray over any area that has hard to clean soap scum (um, my entire bathroom) and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. When it came time to scrub, I honestly only had to wipe it clean. A-mah-zing! I highly recommend, but be sure to crack a window since the vinegar is strong. Our bathroom is window-less so I had a headache as if I had been huffing spray paint out of a paper bag for 30 minutes.

Besides my relatively light cleaning routine, I managed to work out 3 (THREE) whole times this week, which is like three more times than normal. I figured I’d blog about it since according to my watch, I’m due to fall off the wagon any time now. It’s not that I don’t like being active… it’s that being active reminds me of how inactive I am. I mean who likes the feeling of the various parts of your body jiggling and wiggling while running down the street? Oh, hey there neighbor, aren’t these shorts trendy? They’re meant to ride up my thighs like that even though I’m furiously yanking them down every 7 steps. 

I never regret a workout, but I have a really hard time getting out the door. I lack motivation and I’ll always find a reason to skip a run (too hot, too cold, I ate mexican food, etc.). I’m just really tired of the negative things that go through my head when I look in a mirror. I want the confidence I used to have when I met my husband. I’m sure he wants that confident woman back too, because honestly, who needs to hear “Do I look fat in this?” all the time. I turn to Shane when I’m feeling down about myself and a couple nights ago he said something that turned a light on for me. He said my priorities should be the boys first and myself second. Not cleaning, not running errands… me. He’s totally right. I need to make time to take care of myself because no one else will. I figure a happy and healthy mom is the best kind of mom so I’m keeping that in mind when I really don’t feel like doing anything. As of right now, I’m doing a combo of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred and “running” (in quotes since I’m quite certain a speed-walking granny passed me the other day). I don’t really have any goals in place except to NOT QUIT. That’s the only one. Wish me luck.

My parents arrive this week for almost 2 whole weeks. I’m super excited! My mom is an accomplished hostess so I’m looking forward to getting some help with C&W’s first birthday party. Don’t get me wrong, the kids will get their cake and all, but seriously, this is a party for Shane and I. We’ve survived the first year and all of the ups and downs. Life’s a roller coaster with kids, but it just seems like our highs were really high and our lows were especially low this year. So I’m looking forward to getting our friends and family together to celebrate the twins, but also us, because we’ve only just begun this beautiful journey.

It’s going to be a gorgeous weekend here but I’m on call for work. Please pray the murderers remain at bay until Monday!

Self timer family photo FAIL

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Weekend Brain Dump
  1. Nancy Dionne says:

    I enjoy reading what u write u r a courageous young mom, besides all u do, u take time to write and share ups and downs mostly ups, and I am sure it helps allot of people,I am 57 year old u a help me today BESIDES UR HOPE PATIENCE KINDNESS COMPOSITION LOVE you today help me know about this new combination to wash my floor ,,I us dawn to clear the rubber of the wipers it take the tar oils out of the wipers ,windshield is much better after , thank u praying all will work out “one day at a time with u and ur hubby and ur highter power..GOD BLESS

  2. Corrie Anne says:

    Good to know that Pinterest cleaner works!! I need to try it. Good luck with the Jill and running. They’re both so effective. And therapeutic too!!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

