On the Move

Phew, what a busy week! I was in Baltimore at the beginning part of the week attending a work conference. There were lots of interesting speakers and case studies regarding different types of investigations we may come across. I acquired lots of new information and a different way of approaching certain types of crime scenes.

On Wednesday my mother-in-law, Beth came into town for the weekend. All my boys (and me too, of course) love it when “Mima” comes to visit! We have plans to take the boys to the zoo for the first time and to hit up our local pool when it gets hot this weekend. Can’t wait! I’ll be recapping her visit in a few days.

Developmentally, things are moving right along in the Danielson household. The boys are changing so much and so fast, it’s incredible. Wyatt is officially crawling as of last week and I still haven’t got over how cute it is to watch him shuffle his way down the hallway or into the arms of his dad. He went through all the phases of figuring it out: butt scooting, army crawling, rocking on all fours, pushing himself (and subsequently getting stuck) backward and finally forward movement! I have a short video of it here. He’s so proud of himself!

He’s on the move

I instantly learned how I’m no longer going to be able to put him down and look away for a second, or try to pose him next to his brother for a picture. Sitting still is the absolute last thing he wants to do. Not to mention, he’s also quite active at night and we’ve been having to go rescue him several times when he sits up while sleeping and can’t figure out how to lay back down. He’ll cry, we’ll fix his positioning and he’s zonked out before we even leave the room. Most of the time he sleeps on his tummy with his little butt in the air. I just melt into a puddle.

Wyatt’s also starting to recognize some of the words we say which is very exciting. I’ll ask him to clap and, without demonstrating, he’s able to do it. Same goes with “wave bye-bye”. He’s gotten really good at waving and loves to demonstrate whenever we walk to a different room of the house or simply step out of his line of sight. He’s gotten really good at playing toss with Shane and he can “dunk” his little basketball into his hoop. A real athlete, that one.

And then there’s our little Mister C, who is making all kinds of strides. He’s getting so much stronger and is sitting straighter when placed on the floor. He still uses his hands to support himself  but you can see that he’s working extra hard to keep himself as straight as possible.

Lots of progress!

We put him on big stability ball and he absolutely loves it! If I lean him to one side he’ll put his arm out to brace himself, which is something he never did before. While on his tummy on the ball he can get his arms underneath his shoulders and straighten them into a push-up position. He looks at me with this big grin that says, “Look mama! Aren’t you so proud of me?” Caleb is my hero, seriously. He’s made huge strides in a little over a month and I can’t wait to see what he conquers next.

Like a sphinx

Perhaps, most exciting of all, is that Caleb can clap his hands (well, fists) together when I ask him to and I don’t have to demonstrate. This means so much to me since I’m basically reassured that he understands the word clap and that his cognitive development isn’t delayed! Hopefully I’m not setting myself up to be disappointed in the future but I’m optimistic that Caleb’s limitations could only be physical and not mental. And if he continues to work this hard in the months to come, there’s nothing that’s going to stop that little boy.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “On the Move
  1. Louise Levesque says:

    Great news its so positive keep up the good work those boys are beautiful like their mother

  2. tee says:

    Hi Ali,Shane and boys. Thanks for the update on the family. Keep the faith and hard work and our thoughts and prayers are with all of you. Claudette

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

