Memorial Day Shenanigans – Part 2

Missed Part 1? Catch up here.

So after our wild and crazy night on the town in Cedar Rapids we came home. The babysitter was paid a large sum, considering 75% of the kids she babysat that evening were sleeping when she arrived and never woke up. We all stumbled off to bed and woke the next morning to an upset little Ashlinn. Why you ask? Well, she lost her first tooth on Friday (but slept at a friend’s house Friday night) and thought the Tooth Fairy would pay her a visit on Saturday night. Ummm yup, the Tooth Fairy got drunk forgot. Oops. We all felt so bad but the guilt-ridden Fairy apologized for the mix-up in a note she left under Ash’s pillow (along with $5! I could stand to lose a few teeth at that price). Phew! That was a close one!

The weather forecast was hot and sunny on Sunday so we decided to have another day by the pool. We packed up (can you even imagine how much stuff four kids require at the pool?) and headed back to the country club.

The boys had a great time in the water once again. Wyatt mastered a JetSki:

And Caleb enjoyed a nice shady nap in his stroller.

Side Note: Cassie introduced me to a new cocktail this weekend and I’m determined to pass it along since it’s so incredibly good! In college, Cass was a bartender and always coming up with fun cocktails and shooters for us to try. I’m happy to know that things haven’t really changed.  So this new drink is all the rage with her circle of friends in Iowa. It’s called a Skinny Goose (Trademarked, ok not really).

Thirsty yet?

It might seem super simple, and that’s because it is.  Fill your glass with ice, pour as much Grey Goose (or your vodka of choice) as you’d like, fill the rest of the glass with water, squeeze a couple lemon wedges in there, and add a packet or two of Splenda (or I guess whatever low calorie sweetener you prefer). Cassie claims this drink was developed my a nutritionist who created it in response to numerous requests for a guilt-free cocktail. There are ZERO calories and you’re drinking lots of water at the same time so you’re staying hydrated and warding off a hangover at the same time! Genius! I’ve found my go-to drink of the summer, but on our budget, let’s face it, I’ll probably be drinking the cheap stuff.

So back to the pool….  Once we’d decided everyone had their fill we pack up and headed back home. The boys enjoyed some quality play time together. It was so funny seeing Tommy crawling around. Wyatt would just study him and figured out how to put one arm in front of the other, but couldn’t get the hang of moving his legs back and forth. Caleb was loving all of Tommy’s toys and made sure to personally put each one in his mouth before the afternoon was over (not all at the same time of course!).

Caleb and Wyatt’s first birthday is at the end of this month and as such, Cassie wanted to throw them a mini-pre-birthday party. She ordered an awesome cake and we let the boys loose.

We loved this cake! Perfect for my Mario Bros.

Hilarity ensued…

I can’t shovel this into my face fast enough.

Yeah, that’s one way to do it, I guess.

We were cracking up. These boys LOVED them some cake. I was terrified that they’d be up all night but aside from some post-sugar hyperactivity during play time, they were totally fine! This practice session got me super excited for the real deal in a month.

We enjoyed a low-key evening and got to sample TJ’s delicious BBQ ribs. We sat around talking and just enjoying each other’s company. I was bummed that our time in Iowa was coming to an end. Vacations never seem to be long enough.

The next morning we headed to downtown Mount Vernon for their Memorial Day celebration. Ashlinn rode in the back of a pick up truck, throwing candy with other kids. Theirs was the only ‘float’ in the whole parade.

There’s Ash waving!

The rest of the parade included one police car, a number of American Legion representatives, the high school marching band, one fire truck and one ambulance pulling up the rear. The parade was probably 6 minutes from start to finish. You gotta love small towns. It was awesome.

Main street Mount Vernon.

Some of the kids throwing candy were a bit enthusiastic and where whipping Blowpops and Smarties as hard as they could at the three infants in a stroller. It’s a small miracle no one lost an eye.

This picture is brought to you by Pacifiers, Inc.

The festivities continued at the town cemetery for a ceremony honoring those who lost their lives while defending our country. It was a really beautiful service, especially while the American flags that dotted the landscape were waving in tune to a bugler playing Taps.  It seems like the entire town was there to take part and I definitely fell in love with little Mount Vernon.

Very powerful ceremony to remember lives lost.

Like they say, all good things must come to an end. We packed up all of our stuff, loaded the boys in the car and headed to Cedar Rapids. It so happens that my aunt lives there so we were able to meet up for lunch before our flight departed. I hadn’t seen her in such a long time and she was very excited to meet Caleb and Wyatt. Unfortunately my camera battery died before our get together.

While at the airport waiting to depart, I commented to Shane that our trip went so smoothly and the boys were just outstanding. I convinced myself that this whole “traveling with two babies” thing just wasn’t that hard. My my my, how I spoke too soon!

We didn’t have any problems aside from a minor flight delay to our connection in Chicago. Luckily we had a pretty long layover so that left us plenty of time to feed and change the boys and try to get them to sleep while waiting to board. We would be departing around the exact time that they usually go to bed, so I thought our last leg of the trip would be a breeze. I was way wrong. The boys like their space while settling in for the night and they were not used to having to fall asleep in our arms. They squirmed and fussed and cried, loudly for what felt like hours after we made our way to our seats. Just when Caleb was starting to calm down and his blinks got longer and longer, Wyatt would start to cry and since we were across the aisle from each other, Caleb would then join him for some sweet, ear-splitting, screeching and yelling… in stereo! Then they’d finally calm down but once one baby would start up, it’d set off the other. Oh man. It was a rough start. Once sleeping, we were frozen for fear of waking them up. My arm went numb to the point that I was sure I’d have to amputate it. Caleb would jump every time someone opened a can of soda (who knew PSSSHHHHTTT was so loud?) during beverage service so I was sending prayers up to the travel gods for everyone to just order coffee and water!!!

We landed safely in Baltimore and waited at the door of the plane for our big double stroller to be retrieved. When it arrived, we were confused as to why it wasn’t popping open like normal. We thought maybe they had locked it somehow but we had no idea how to unlock it. Imagine our horror when we discovered that it wouldn’t open since the entire frame was severely bent. I was so angry. I was holding both boys while Shane tried to pry it open. He finally did and we squeezed Wyatt into his side. The stroller wasn’t moving properly and could no longer turn.

Yup, I’d call that broken.

I was so incredibly angry. Our stroller was a gift and we used it so much. When we filed a complaint with the airline, they kept the stroller for their investigation and made no guarantee they would actually cover the cost of a new one. We’re still dealing with that.

I wish I could say that the return flight from hell ended there, but then Shane got stuck waiting for a shuttle bus to long term parking for over 45 minutes. They usually come at least every 10 minutes. I waited inside the airport with our wide-awake boys and tried my best to get them to fall back asleep.

Once Shane got the car, we were finally on our way back home. Wouldn’t you know it, there was a huge accident on I-95 and it turned into a parking lot. I have never in my life seen cars driving IN REVERSE on the shoulder of the highway trying frantically to take an exit they had already passed. Luckily we were able to detour and found our way home at 2am.

Even after our hellish return trip, we had such an incredible weekend. I am so thankful to have such amazing friends, near and far and I really cherish the relationship I have with my dear friend Cassie. Love that girl, and her incredible family.

We make cute kids!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Memorial Day Shenanigans – Part 2
  1. Din says:

    Loved hearing about your trip to visit Cass and fam. Sounded like an amazing time, and it really miss you all. Sorry about your stroller. Hopefully the airline replaces it!

  2. […] good and kept the dance floor packed the entire night! The bartenders even learned how to make a Skinny Goose cocktail for me. The best part of all was celebrating an incredibly sweet couple and being […]

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
