What’s in a Name?

When Shane and I found out we were going to have a baby we didn’t waste any time thinking about the baby’s name. I’ve had a girls name picked out since I can remember so that was a no-brainer. But Shane and I couldn’t decide on a boys name. I loved the name Caleb and he had recently gotten hooked to the name Wyatt. Imagine our luck when we found out there was not one, but two boys on the way. We didn’t have to make a decision and didn’t discuss any other names since I was 16 weeks pregnant.

Since we decided to find out the gender, we decided we wanted to keep the names a surprise. It gave us time to change our minds if we came across something that we liked better. Also, it spared us from having to listen to others give their unsolicited opinions. It seems like when you share your future child’s name, it’s like an open invite for others to weigh in. We loved the names we chose so much that I really didn’t want someone else’s input to change that. And, once born, who would even think to criticize the name of an adorable brand new baby? No one! So we kept the names a surprise from everyone and, try as she may, even my mom didn’t find out until after the boys had arrived.

Maybe it’s a little superstitious but Shane and I didn’t even refer to the boys by their names until after they were born, even if it was just the two of us at home. It’s like I didn’t want to jinx anything. We quickly got tired of referring to Baby A and Baby B when talking about positioning and hiccups, etc. Not to mention it sounded so clinical. We had met a couple who referred to their twins as “Gin” and “Tonic” in utero. Hmm, maybe that was a nod to how they were conceived? After much thought, and trial and error (Frick & Frack was just not sticking) we decided on Mario and Luigi.

Mario (Caleb) was pretty laid back and didn’t move or kick all too often. I don’t think he had much room! He always had hiccups. Like 7-10 times a day, so cute! He was the bigger twin and seemed to be eating more of his half of food from their shared refrigerator. He was positioned quite low and it was his water that broke causing me to go into labor.

Luigi (Wyatt) was the opposite of laid back. He poked and prodded, kicked, swam, did the “wave”, the Macarena, yoga… name it, he did it. He was the smaller of the two, but so much more active. He was higher up and I’m sure was the cause for my terrible heartburn that caused me to crunch on Tums all night long.

They really have maintained those same traits even now. Caleb is happy-go-lucky, super smiley and easy going but every once and a while he’ll throw a fit and can really get himself worked up. Wyatt is our little tasmanian devil and his favorite activities include: playing catch (throwing things), being affectionate with Caleb (pulling hair/glasses) and exploring everything (just generally causing mischief).

So that’s the story of how the title of the blog came to be. It pays homage to a simpler time when I was pregnant, sitting on the couch just daydreaming about what these little boys would be like and what the future held for our family.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “What’s in a Name?
  1. Megan says:

    I love this post and since we are going sans ultrasounds, we have no idea what we’re having (other than a baby). We call Baby M ‘Peanut’ and while we have a boys name picked (we are still, ahem, discussing girls names) I think of the baby as Peanut. It will actually be weird when the grand arrival occurs and we actually have to start calling the baby something other than essentially, ‘brown wrinkled legume’! Peanut likes to do exercises at about 4am, so if that keeps up after birth, my husbands PT uniform might grown to include our organic ergo!

  2. So cute, Ali! I loved this, and love the name of the blog. So fitting!

  3. So cute, Ali! I loved those nicknames during your pregnancy and it’s the perfect name for your blog. 🙂

  4. thelittlelilypad says:

    Cute post and cute name for your blog! Glad to be a new follower from the multiples link up…you can follow me back at http://thelittlelilypad.blogspot.com Thanks! Amanda

  5. Ashleigh says:

    Hey! I found you through the Multiples and More link up and I’m glad I did. I started blogging because one of my twins had some problems early (I actually initially thought CP was a possibility) on. Nice to connect with a similar mom. Excited to follow your journey.

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,460
Recent Posts
