First Mothers Day

What an amazing weekend! I really didn’t want it to end! Yesterday, we attended a wine tasting in a nearby town with friends and their young kids. Lots of wine, jazz music and a yummy picnic made for a memorable afternoon.

Hats only stayed on long enough for this picture to be taken.

Today, I was greeted with coffee in bed, gift cards to treat myself to a little shopping-spree, brunch at a fabulous restaurant and then lots of quality time with the boys all afternoon. We had plans to go for a walk to the park, but the boys had other ideas, taking long naps at opposite times. It was nice to just relax at home and spend quality time with the non-napping baby.

Finally a keeper after 3,540 takes!

I also took a lot of time this weekend to reflect on my first Mothers Day. Ten and half months ago, I was given the prestigious title of mother, which I share with millions of women around the world. Since then, I no longer think of myself first, I worry incessantly, and I have no shame. Only a mother would make silly faces and sounds, dance around like a fool and sing like a wounded cat (sometimes in public) to calm a crying baby. In other words, you just do what you have to do. Isn’t that really the motto of motherhood? Do what works for you and your family? I learned that lesson very quickly!

So I admit it frustrates me to read articles spotlighting different parenting techniques, not because they might be considered contraversial, but because it’s an obvious attempt to re-ignite the “Mommy Wars” with whatever is the hot topic du-jour. God forbid you don’t do X, Y or Z! You’re obviously not “mom enough” and probably signing your kid up for a lifetime of therapy. What makes me sad is that most of the judgement and backlash is coming from other women, a majority of which are mothers themselves. Have these stories always been so prevalent, or is it just because I’m a new parent that they’re now on my radar? It seems like mainstream media is very aware what sells magazines and newspapers; stories that pit moms against each other. While I may not agree with some of these techniques, I’ll never criticize another parent’s choice of how to raise their kid. Admittedly, I’m not perfect and I’m sure I’ve passed judgement before. Even worse is that it was probably before I even had kids. Yikes. My, how things have changed!

The best part about Mothers Day, for me, was the fact that all moms are celebrated, not just your own. So let’s remember how we feel about other mothers on this day and carry that feeling into the rest of the year. Give others the benefit of the doubt that they’re doing what they feel is the very best they can for their kids, and just do what’s best for yours!

My mother-in-law, Beth and my mom, Madeline

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
3 comments on “First Mothers Day
  1. Megan says:

    It’s a good mom’s job to give your kids something to talk about in therapy when they get older. 🙂 That was one of my mom’s motto’s and it’s worked out for her…

    Happy Mother’s Day! While it’s still a few months until I officially join the tribe, I consider this to be my first ‘happy incubation day’ and I’m thrilled that you have enjoyed your first full MD.

  2. Kristi Boyes says:

    Ali, Caleb and Wyatt are both blessed to have such a wise mother already. Many of us took years to realize some of the things you have already discovered. I always knew Shane was a wise-guy and it thrills me to know you are too. Enjoy your mother’s day every day it is the best and hardest job in the world but also gives the best rewards. You are in my prayers.

  3. Tante Chris says:

    Well written, well sayed and especially well worth the read for everyone!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

