Holy Overwhelming, Batman!

So…. I’ve gotten so much positive feedback from this here little blog of mine! Since sharing the site on my Facebook page about 24 hours ago, I’ve received almost 700 page views, some coming from as far away as Italy and France! I will NEVER doubt the power of social media… it is amazing! I’ve taken time to read, re-read and internalize every comment and private message. With each comment my heart gets a little bigger, I walk a little taller, and I look at my two boys and know that so many people out there are cheering them on! So, that being said… thank  you.

This morning Caleb had his second visit from the physical therapist. She is a wonderful woman, who happens to have 40 (yes, 40) years of experience! She’s very grandmotherly and has a way of talking and holding Caleb that calms him down and gets his attention immediately. She hums little songs and moves his limbs to the beat, so he thinks it’s a fun game and in actuality, she’s working on relaxing his muscle tone. We worked on a big stability ball to teach him how to use his core in an effort to sit upright. The therapist is just so encouraging and pointing out lots of little things that give us hope. “See how well he reaches both hands outward?” “Look how good he chews and swallows, he should have no problem feeding himself in the future.” She studies the way Caleb moves and picks up on things that I don’t think twice about.

At our first session, she laid out some skills that she hopes Caleb will have mastered in 6 months time. These include rolling both ways, sitting on his own and army crawling. I like to think that she’s not setting us up for failure and since she’s worked with lots of kids in her 40 years of experience  she must see qualities in Caleb that cause her to believe these goals can be met.

When these goals were first outlined I got a little misty-eyed as she spoke because I visualized the day both boys would be sitting and playing next to each other without Caleb having to rely on his little seat. And don’t think for a second I won’t be right there too, with cameras/recording devices in hand!

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “Holy Overwhelming, Batman!
  1. shanann says:

    Allí,
    I’ve,been following your blog since you posted it on fb. I remeber cheering with you and think about how loooong It’s been since those days. I wish you, shane, Caleb, and wyatt nothing but the very best in life. If Caleb is anything like you, he will overcome any obstacle in his way 🙂
    Shanann

  2. Tante Chris says:

    I love that this woman knows just how much to push his skill level without giving him any pain….she is quite the Godsend! Happy exercising time Caleb ;O)

  3. Louise Levesque says:

    Ali, Shane,
    \i’ve been thinking alot about you guys since I heard the news my prayers are with you I know very well that you guys will give your best to the boys you know how I lived through my little boy you guys will live through all the joys and accomplishment Caleb will reach and with parents like Caleb and Wyatt have nothing is limited to you guys. Please know I’m your biggest fan cheering you all on. I love you guys and hope to see you in july.

  4. Diane Boucher says:

    Ali, Caleb and Wyatt are so blessed to have you as their mommy, With an energetic and bubbly character like yours, they will definately both exceed in whatever they need to overcome!!! I so look forward to reading your blogs!!!! Keep them coming !!!!

  5. Vanessa G. says:

    First, as a Developmental Therapist, I want to applaud you & Shane for doing what takes a lot of parents years, (unfortunately for some, sometimes never), to be able to do…for stepping up to the plate. Caleb and Wyatt are truly blessed. As a mom, I am in awe at your strength and courage!! You will touch many lives with this blog- not to mention inspire and educate many. Wishing you all the very best!

  6. mom says:

    Ali, I can’t believe how many people have reached out to read and comment on your blog. You have touched so many people. Your strength and outlook is so positive that you somehow give me strength to accept this.You continue to amaze me and I have to wonder how did I raise such a beautiful, intelligent, strong women.I love you more than words can express and I’m here for you anytime. All I can do is pray that you and Shane will have the courage you need to get through it all. Caleb and Wyatt will be fine because God has blessed them with loving parents.

  7. Chantel (from Madtown) says:

    Ali, First off… I don’t even know where to begin but to say the boys are sooo lucky to have you both and sooo cute! You are inspiring and both amazing. I am a pediatric occupational therapist and like the PT, I do lots of the same things and work closely with families. Just know that in life as parents always remember “If there’s a will… there’s a way…” Their are no limitations in life and the boy’s know that more then we as adults can see. Know you are always doing the best for the boys and don’t even second guess that. You are doing a great job and I admire you both for being where you are today!!

  8. Sharon Arnold says:

    Alli you’re a great mom & you’re doing all that is needed for both boys. Don’t ever think you’ve done anything wrong. As you’re mom said you have a lot of people out there praying for you. And you growing up w/ all boys I know you’re a very strong person. You will have some rough days but then the good days will outnumber the bad ones…

    Take Care you have a very good support group..

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 209 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 79,409
Recent Posts
