Lots of Background

So, now that this blog has officially been started, I suppose I’ll introduce myself. I’m a 20-something mom of twin boys, Caleb & Wyatt. I’m married to this great guy named Shane and we live in the DC ‘burbs. I met Shane  in 2006 while I was working as a receptionist during grad school. I moved here from my home state of Maine with only a couple of suitcases and an open invitation to stay with relatives. I soon was able to move into the city and took advantage of all DC had to offer (read: happy hours).  A majority of weeknights were spent at various dingy basement bars drinking away the monotony of answering phones and opening doors all day. The next day would start with a headache, coffee, breakfast sandwich, rinse and repeat. I had occasional bouts of homesickness in those early months but my new friends quickly filled the void of a far-away family.

Besides drinking away my paycheck, I was working toward my Masters Degree in Forensic Science. For the first time, I really looked forward to going to school and couldn’t wait for the next lecture. The course work was challenging, don’t get me wrong, but I was convinced this is what I was meant to do. Originally, I wanted to work in a crime laboratory as a DNA analyst but I was never able to land a job after grad school. I was, however, offered a position as a Crime Scene Technician and never looked back. The best part about my job is the unpredictability from day to day. You never know what the day will bring. Another great part of this job is getting an email telling you that a fingerprint you collected hit on a known fingerprint in the database! You essentially gifted the investigators with a suspect all wrapped up in a pretty bow. It’s hard not to feel pretty good after that. Probably what a doctor feels like after they save a life…. ok, not quite, but still. I try to talk to Shane about my work from time to time, but he can only handle it in small doses. It can get kind of gory, so I understand not wanting to talk shop over dinner. The real bummer about my job is that I can’t publicly talk about open investigations. So, that being said, my career will only be a small part of this blog.

I moved to DC in a relationship with a college boyfriend, so when I met Shane it wasn’t quite “love at first sight”, although I’m pretty sure he felt that way about me.  I caught him doodling my name all over his work notebook just like a high school cheerleader one day. Ok, so maybe that didn’t happened but I never claimed to have a perfect memory. I do know that on a snowy Valentine’s Day, there was definitely some serious flirting going on and I saw him as more than a co-worker. When it became public that we were dating, our boss was furious! He threatened our jobs and so we “broke up.” CONFESSION ALERT: We never really broke up. We dated in secret for 7 months until I eventually quit to focus on school! Apparently we were terrible at keeping our secret since practically all our co-workers figured it out in about 23 minutes. It was pretty comical when we’d hang out on the weekends and wouldn’t hold hands while walking around for fear of running into someone in this smaller-than-you-think city. I think back on those months and can’t help but smile. Two grown adults, both self-proclaimed goody-two-shoes, afraid of being “caught”. Well, fast forward 5 years and we’re happily married with two little baby boys! Good thing we decided dating was worth the risk of being unemployed!

So I suppose that’s the cliff notes version of how we’ve gotten to this point. Every now and then I’ll be traveling down memory lane in order to better explain the paths we’ve led to get to this point in our lives.

A picture from the secret dating era.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Lots of Background
  1. Michelle says:

    Yep, worst secret daters ever. 🙂

  2. Kat says:

    hahahha – we did the same thing! We “secretly” dated and lived together for 9 months! We were WAY better at keeping it though 😉 but I remember going to the mall and being afraid to be ‘caught” by someone, so never touching. lol

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

