Why I’m here…

I’ve always been a fan of reading blogs. While planning my wedding I was obsessed with bridal blogs and borrowed lots of great ideas that we used on our big day. After we purchased a house, I scoured home decor blogs for style inspiration and then quickly proceeded to run out of money. That was a short-lived obsession. We got pregnant shortly thereafter, and my focus was solely on the little baby that was on the way. Imagine our shock when there was not one, but two little bundles due to make their arrival. I read and read and absorbed it all like a sponge. As a result of all this reading, I’ve learned that no two babies (even identical twins) are alike, they all progress at their own speed and what works for you might not work for someone else.

There are a plethora of fantastic blogs out there and some of my favorites aren’t really about much at all. Once you become a mom, you’re intrigued by what other moms do. Even the mundane stuff will suck you in until you realize you’ve read 4 pages about sleep training. Yikes. But throughout the years, I’ve always wanted to write a blog myself. I was convinced I didn’t have anything say, my life wasn’t terribly exciting (minus the surprise twins) and that I’m far from a good writer. Guess what, none of that had really changed until last week (ahem, except the good writer part, that’s a work in progress). On Monday we had an assessment with a couple therapists from our county’s Early Intervention program because our son, Caleb, was delayed in some of his developmental milestones. By Friday, it was confirmed with a pediatric neurologist that he has a type of Cerebral Palsy called spastic diplegia. We were completely devastated and allowed ourselves the weekend to grieve and be sad but vowed that come Monday, we would be committed to giving our son the best care and support that he needs. I thought to myself, “There’s so much swimming in my head” and so I decided to use this little piece of internet real estate as a journal of sorts. It’s a way to document the start of this new life from the beginning. It’s also a place where those who love Caleb and his twin, Wyatt, can get updates on their (rapid!) growth and milestones. Lastly, it’s a place for those who are affected with Cerebral Palsy can come to share their story and reach out, knowing that I’m just starting the process myself and have lots yet to learn.

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

