Parker at One Month!

Our little guy turned one month old last Friday. The weeks are flying by and we’re loving getting to know him and watching the dynamic between all our boys. Parker is only the “little” brother because he’s the youngest… there’s not much else that’s very “little” about him! He’s such a tall baby and it shocks me how fast he’s growing out of clothes!  We’ve long outgrown newborn and size 0-3months, so now, at five weeks old, he’s wearing size 3 month clothing and even those are getting difficult to snap! My favorite time of the day is when I get to rock Parker and count the rolls on his legs, arms and neck and marvel at the adorableness of his knuckle dimples! Fat babies are awesome! (Little peanut babies are pretty cute too, I’ve had a couple of those).

On a very much related note… Parker eats… a lot. He’s a milkaholic and I’m his open bar so it’s not uncommon for me to be feeding him every 2.5 hours during the day. Luckily for us, he’ll stretch it a bit more at night… between 3-4 hours. Shane handles one of the feedings in the middle of the night so I get a long stretch of sleep and have woken up relatively well rested lately! I struggled in my attempts to nurse the twins when they were newborns, which led me to exclusively pump milk for months until they sort of got the hang of it. By the time they were six months old, however, they were getting formula only because I couldn’t keep up. Feeding Parker has been much easier and I’m enjoying the experience so much more because I’m not constantly stressing about his weight gain. If he’s sleepy during a feeding, I just let him go back to bed, rather than try to keep him awake like I had to do with Caleb & Wyatt. My goal is to nurse Parker for as long as I can.

Parker has just begun giving us some big gummy smiles and somewhere buried in those chipmunk cheeks are possibly two little dimples. It’s a little too early to tell for sure though. He’s also started making sweet cooing noises, as if he’s trying to tell us lots of stories. He’s starting to spend more of the day awake, which is a lot of fun, except he’d prefer to be held rather than in a seat, swing or carrier. Carrying Parker around totally tanks my productivity, but my primary responsibility during maternity leave is to bond with him, so I’m ok with the fact that I won’t be winning any awards for my cooking (or lack of) and cleaning (or lack of).

Current nicknames: Parkey, Park, Park-ma-nark, Master P and P.D.  Oh, and Caleb randomly called him Bon-Bon the other day. Huh?!?

Parker, we love you! Happy one month birthday, baby!

DSC_0025a

 

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Parker
2 comments on “Parker at One Month!
  1. angie says:

    Ali he is beautiful!! Looks a bit like you. Will think of you at the end of the month, when you go for Caleb’s surgery! Best wishes, Angie

  2. megan montgomery says:

    What a beautiful boy to add to your “collection”. :). I hope that you are feeling well, I LOVE that you are not pressuring yourself to do anything beyond love your baby(ies) during maternity leave and I love how lucky parker is that you are going to nurse as long as possible. Some of the mama’s in my group nurse 4, 5 and 6 year Olds if you ever need advice from the trenches. I know that the big trek across the country is coming up, and i’m sending good baby wrangling thoughts.

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 875 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 69,081
Recent Posts
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 875 other followers

