Baby Parker is Here!

I’ve been wanting to sit down and write this post for three weeks now but it’s been difficult to find the time to sit and write! Anyways, I have a few minutes now so here it goes…

Baby Parker is here! Caleb and Wyatt’s birthday was on a Monday and I went to work that evening. I noticed I was having some contractions, but they weren’t getting closer together, so I finished my shift and was home by about 11:30pm. At 2:00am, my water broke! It wasn’t as dramatic an experience as when I went into labor with the boys, so I wasn’t totally sure that my water had broken at all! Needless to say, when I called the doctor, he wanted me to go to Labor & Delivery to get checked out. We had some friends on standby to take care of Caleb & Wyatt, but didn’t want to wake them up until I knew I was going to be admitted. My suspicions were confirmed in triage and I was admitted. I wasn’t having too many contractions, so I was able to walk around as much as possible to try and get labor started. Our friends came to pick up the boys and entertain them for the day, while Shane’s parents were on a flight from Colorado to come help us out!

The day passed by slowly, I was too excited to sleep and wasn’t supposed to eat anything, so I was getting a little cranky. At some point in the afternoon (Shane meticulously kept the times of all the major events of the day) I was given pitocin to start to speed things up. I also got an epidural when things started to get uncomfortable. I had a scary (to me, anyway) low blood pressure incident where I was sure I was going to faint, but luckily didn’t and once I was given more fluids and my meds were adjusted I felt fine. Well, as fine as someone who is in labor could feel I guess. Some unknown amount of time passed and it was finally time to push. In my previous pregnancy I only pushed for like 30 minutes total, so I was naive in thinking I was almost done. An hour and forty-five minutes of the most difficult pushing ever, Parker was finally born! Our little chunker weighed 8lb9oz and was 22 inches long! His weight was only 1lb1oz less than the combined weight of his brothers when they were born! At the very end of my labor I spiked a fever and because it had been a long time since my water broke, precautions were taken and Parker received antibiotics in the NICU in case of an infection. Everything worked out fine and we were both discharged when Parker was almost 48 hours old!

Since being home, we’ve enjoyed the help of Shane’s parents, as well as my parents and an adjustment for our new family of five. Caleb and Wyatt have been really sweet with their baby brother. They are gentle and love to help with diapers and bath time. They have also been enjoying the extra attention from their grandparents! We are so in love with our new addition! Parker is a sweet boy, who (knock on wood) is such an easy baby. He’s on a great schedule and sleeps the entire time between feedings at night, so we don’t feel like zombies this time around! I’ve had very few instances where I was responsible for all three kids for an extended period of time, but that changes tomorrow. Our visitors are gone and Shane will be back at work. The older boys will be going to daycare part time and they’re excited to see their friends again. I’m looking forward to spending some quality one-on-one time with Little P! The next month will be spend “relaxing” and gearing up for our big trip to St. Louis for Caleb’s surgery! Exciting times ahead!

Here’s some pictures from the past few weeks!

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0047

DSC_0060a

First family (of five) picture!

DSC_0077

Meeting their “baby brudder”

DSC_0087

DSC_0115

DSC_0120

DSC_0135

Parker’s first outing – Fourth of July Parade!

DSC_0179

First visit to the Pediatrician!

DSC_0223

Danielson Men

DSC_0239

Demonstrating “tummy time” for Parker

DSC_0023

DSC_0036

Caleb showing off his incredible upper body strength

DSC_0046

DSC_0057

DSC_0069a

DSC_0092a

DSC_0062

DSC_0065

DSC_0142a

Parker’s first trip to outer space – 2.5 weeks old

DSC_0078

DSC_0114

DSC_0124a

First bath!

DSC_0130a

DSC_0135

DSC_0144a

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Caleb, Family, Parker, Wyatt
3 comments on “Baby Parker is Here!
  1. nikkstar says:

    Don’t you guys look great!! Congrats on Parkers arrival :)

  2. angie says:

    Congrats on little Parker, I must say Ali there is some resemblance to you!! Busy busy house hold, but you are amazing parents!! Best of luck with Caleb next month, will keep him in my prayers that everything goes great!! All the best Angie

  3. Louise Beaulieu says:

    Wow….congratualtions on your wonderful little miracle from God! You have a beautiful little family…I love the pictures of the grandparents with the children…great memories…congratulations and prayers being sent for the big surgery coming up… peace and blessings..

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 869 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 67,536
Recent Posts
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

