Family of Four – Expiring Soon

DSC_0148

DSC_0151

DSC_0157

We pulled out the boys’ water table that they got last summer and let them enjoy splashing in the backyard on the afternoon of Memorial Day. The weekend had been pretty busy and productive so an afternoon at home in the yard sounded heavenly. The boys loved their water table when they got it for their birthday last year and seem to love it even more now that they’re older. Caleb can stand and play for a much longer period of time before getting tired and Wyatt loved splashing without anyone telling him to knock it off. Shane and I pulled up camping chairs, a beverage of choice and just watched our boys play. These moments as a family of four are numbered and pretty soon there will be a whole new person to get to know. After the boys were born, I remember it seemed difficult to imagine what life was like before, when it was just Shane and I, and I’m guessing that will happen again once baby bro arrives. It’s bittersweet, to be looking forward to bringing a new little boy into the family but sad that the current family dynamic that we’ve come to love will be changing soon.

DSC_0170

DSC_0176

DSC_0178

While I don’t feel as prepared as I did with the twins, I know this time around that everything will fall into place and there isn’t much worth stressing about. My husband might disagree, but I’m definitely more laid back this time around. I’ve realized that if I’ve forgotten how to do something, like get that perfect burrito swaddle, I know that within 5 minutes it’ll all come back to me. And god forbid if we run out of something the baby needs, well there’s Target down the street or Amazon at my fingertips. It won’t be the end of the world if the nursery isn’t done when he’s born because he won’t sleep in there for a couple months anyways. At this point, I’m enjoying spending these last few weeks with our little family of four and giving the boys all my attention before it has to be split even more. We’re off on another adventure this weekend… our first foray into CAMPING! That’s right! My husband has been wanting to go camping for a while now, so in celebration of his birthday and Fathers Day, we’ve rented a local campsite for a couple nights. The boys couldn’t be more excited to “play with sticks” and “find bugs” at their first camping experience. Surprisingly, I’m actually pretty excited too! Well maybe not that excited about being 36 weeks pregnant and sleeping in a tent, but I was promised a lot of s’mores and I’m definitely looking forward to that! Wish me luck!

DSC_0161

 

I'm a working mom of three fantastic boys: Caleb, Wyatt and Parker. My husband, Shane, and I live in the Washington DC suburbs where we enjoy playgrounds, pools and never getting to sleep in. This blog is a journal of our day-to-day lives as well as a chronicle of Caleb's progress after a recent spinal surgery to alleviate the effects of his cerebral palsy.

Posted in Family, Uncategorized, Weekend
3 comments on “Family of Four – Expiring Soon
  1. Sharon says:

    My granddaughters in NJ have that water table and they spend so much time just having fun. And they’re 7 & 4 so the boys will use it for a long time.

  2. angie says:

    hearing about your family again. Hope you have a great camping experience next weekend!

  3. angie says:

    Nice hearing about your family HA!!

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 875 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 69,047
Recent Posts
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 875 other followers

