Quick Trip to STL

The main focus of our trip to St. Louis was obviously to meet with Dr. Park to discuss Caleb and the SDR surgery, but we also managed to see some of the city and have a little fun.

If I hadn’t been 34 weeks pregnant, the flight to and from St. Louis would’ve been downright heavenly! There were three of us (Wyatt stayed home with friends) but the plane only had two seats on each side of the aisle so I was odd man out. Caleb is a seasoned flier at this point in his young life, so he had absolutely no problems during the 2 hour flight. As a matter of fact, he slept a majority of the time. Ironically, the airplane magazine had an article about medical tourism and how people will travel all over to see a particular doctor or get a specific procedure done that they can’t get done in their hometown. What a coincidence!

DSC_0012

 

DSC_0013

Once we landed and got all our gear, we took public transportation from the airport to our hotel. Everything went smoothly and we checked into the Parkway Hotel, which is actually attached to several hospitals via a skybridge. Access to the hospital couldn’t have been easier and we will most likely be staying there again when we return in August. We dropped off our bags, had a quick lunch at a nearby mexican restaurant and then took the hotel’s shuttlebus to the St. Louis Zoo! I must say, we were very impressed with this zoo. Admission is free, but some of the exhibits are a small fee, as is a train ride around the zoo. Because of my lack of mobility, we opted to take the train to different parts of the zoo in order to minimize walking. We saw lions, tigers, zebras, flamingoes, a giraffe and so much more! Between my limited walking and our being there┬ánear closing time, we definitely missed lots of other exhibits but I’m not worried because we’ll be back in a couple months!

zoocollage

Having spent the day flying to St. Louis and walking around a zoo all afternoon, we were really tired and had dinner in our hotel lobby in order to get to bed nice and early for our big appointment on Monday. One thing I forgot to mention in my last post was that Caleb became fast friends with a little boy in the waiting room at the doctor’s office. His name is Aiden and he is about 2 years post-op if I remember correctly. Shane and I spent the better part of 30 minutes asking them a zillion questions about their experience with the surgery, the hospital, the recovery, the post-op therapy regimen and other logistics. They, along with everyone other family we’ve spoken with, have said that they have absolutely zero regrets and this surgery has helped their child in numerous ways. To see Aiden and Caleb together was so heartwarming, they were instant best friends. They sat next to each other and were hugging and laughing until it was our turn to go.

Amused by the fish tank at the doctor's office.

Amused by the fish tank at the doctor’s office.

New friend, Aiden

New friend, Aiden

After the long and emotional doctor’s appointment we made our way to the other side of the city to check out the Gateway Arch and take a riverboat tour on the Mississippi River. You can’t really go to St. Louis without checking out the Arch and we were definitely impressed by its stature and commanding presence in the St. Louis skyline. I spent the cruise with a napping Caleb in my lap while Shane snapped pics took in the sights.

Feet in the Mississippi River!

Feet in the Mississippi River!

DSC_0095

 

View of the arch from the river

After the cruise, we walked around a little and made our way to the 26th floor of a downtown hotel to have a drink and check out the view of the city. Our little tourist family┬ástuck out like a sore thumb in this swanky, rooftop lounge, but we didn’t care.

Numerous sit down breaks for me!

DSC_0129

View from rooftop bar

Our final stop of the day was an Italian restaurant on the hill, which is like the Little Italy of St. Louis. Our food was delicious, Caleb was well-behaved and we got to daydream about the next time we’ll be in St. Louis and how Caleb’s life will never be the same afterward!

DSC_0134

Oh, I forgot to mention. Caleb’s absolute most favorite part of the entire trip?? The cabinet in the hotel room of course. He would kneel there all day if we let him, opening and closing this cabinet. He just loved it… so we had to get a pic of course.

DSC_0135

Until next time, St. Louis…

I'm a working mom of twin boys, Caleb & Wyatt. My husband, Shane and I live in the Washington DC suburbs. I spend my free time mentally making to-do lists and double checking both kids are accounted for. My husband thinks I start every sentence with, "You know what we REALLY need..." I'm a social media addict and recently gave up celebrity gossip which freed up lots of time for more useless internet surfing.

Posted in Caleb, SDR, St. Louis
4 comments on “Quick Trip to STL
  1. Sharon Arnold says:

    I am so excited for Caleb & he as well as you & Shane will be in my prayers..Looking forward to hearing all about your next adventure..You look great Allision..

  2. Megan says:

    I hear you on the flying! I flew up here at 37 weeks and actually took a mid-wife’s note in case I wasn’t let on the plane. :) I do so, so love this opportunity for all of you guys, especially caleb. Sending good thoughts!

  3. Marc Lawson says:

    Wow!!!! what an experience Dr. Akim is a wonderful spell caster, he has made my life complete again by helping me cast a love spell to return my wife and also make her to be faithful to me again. I was skeptical at first, but what a believer I am now, his spell really worked! my lover is now faithful to me, he can cast so many other spells and sove many problems so if you are also seeking for any help to get your lover back? call +2348159645271 or email BESTLOVEDOCTOR@YAHOO.COM

  4. angie says:

    Thanks for sharing your trip with us. Ali you look great, only two weeks behind Ashley, Good luck with the delivery. I am sure you will post something on your blog about the new addition, when you feel up to it. Can’t wait to see this little brother. Angie

I love to hear from you! Leave a comment!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 865 other followers

Number of blog hits
  • 66,268
Recent Posts
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 865 other followers

